SPAN 7990/CPLT 7120
Art & Design Librarian
Marty Miller
She/her/hers
Art & Design Librarian
Marty Miller
She/her/hers
Literature Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Tutorials
Developed by MLA, this free online module provides a crash course on how and when to utilize the MLA International Bibliography for literary research. This module will help you learn to understand your search results and how to efficiently locate publications for your research. The module takes roughly ninety minutes to complete and provides a certificate upon completion. Additional modules are available and cover topics including searching the bibliography for specific literary works, authors, and theoretical approaches or methods of analysis.