Mass Communication Librarian
U.S. Historical Newspapers, Magazines, & Periodicals
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAs compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
- America's HIstorical Imprints This link opens in a new windowAmerica's Historical Imprints contains 3 full-text and fully searchable collections: Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922; Early American Imprints, Series 1-Evans; and Early American Imprints, Series 2-Shaw-Showmaker.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAs the first draft of history, newspapers document the life and times of a community,a region and a nation. For searching and browsing American newspapers published in the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Americas Historical Newspapers is the single most comprehensive online resource, providing more than 1,300 titles from all 50 states.
- American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (Parts 1- 6) This link opens in a new window*Part 6 is now accessible.*
Rich collections of periodicals detail American history and culture from the
late-17th century through the late-19th century meeting the research
needs of scholars and faculty in specific academic departments. See the More Info section below for a complete list of collections offered in this database. Collections can be searched individually or all at one time. The URL linking out from this database record searches all collections. - Archive of Americana This link opens in a new windowThe acclaimed Archive of Americana enables students and scholars to explore virtually every aspect of United States history, culture and daily life across three centuries. Providing unprecedented online access to newspapers, books, broadsides, ephemera, government publications and more, the Archive of Americana puts tens of millions of pages of primary documents at researchers' fingertips.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. An easy-to-use online resource—updated daily—for every institution working toward social justice and racial equity.
- Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new windowAs part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, the Chicago Defender offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Covering the years 1909-1975, the Chicago Defender includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era (1857-1865) and access to HarpWeek Reconstruction I (1866 - 1871). The HarpWeek Database consists of the pages of Harper's Weekly, scanned as images, together with a series of controlled-vocabulary indexes, which are interactively linked.
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
- Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new windowllustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines: Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses is the definitive online Civil War media resource. The database contains 65,000 pages drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers, most of them illustrated3,720 issues published from 1860 to 1865.
- Los Angeles Times (1881- 2013) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- New York Times with Index (1851-2018) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-2018) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
- Washington Post 1877 - 2005 This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Proquest provides access to articles from 1877 to 2005.
International Historical Newspapers
- British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new windowBritish Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society.The collection includes Parts I-V and covers the years 1732-1950.
- British Periodicals I and II This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
- Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new windowThe Daily Mail Historical Archive provides more than 100 years of news stories that capture 20th century culture and society and includes copious advertisements.
- Latin American Newspapers Series 1 (1805-1922) This link opens in a new windowLatin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
- Latin American Newspapers Series 2 (1822-1922) This link opens in a new windowLatin American Newspapers, Series 2, 1822-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
- Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957 This link opens in a new windowUsers can browse and search more than 38,000 pages and 95,000 articles online, gaining remarkable insight into a crucial period of twentieth-century history -- from the stormy years leading up to World War II to the first decade of the Cold War. An invaluable resource for students, teachers, and researchers of media, journalism, history, and photography, the Picture Post is also a heritage collection, providing excellent, highly visual primary source material for family and local history researchers. For users that already have access to other newspapers in Gale's online collection, such as the Illustrated London News Historical Archive and The Times Digital Archive, the collection provides additional avenues and in-roads into research of the period.
- Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 This link opens in a new windowThe Telegraph Historical Archive provides access to an archive of 1 million pages. The paper is considered to be Britain's first "penny newspaper" and became the largest-selling newspaper in the world by 1876.
- The Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowThe Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.