A collection of images published on Flickr using a Creative Commons license.
Providing access to the visual collections of the Wellcome Library, which documents "2000 years of human culture" with a focus on biomedical imagery. Most images are open access, some require payment.
Search over 10,000 images from Getty Museum and Research Institute collections made available for download
Explore 894,262 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections
Free and open-licensed photos
Free icon database
Free stock photos for personal and commercial use
The internet’s source of freely-usable images.
Digital Audio Collections from the Library of Congress American Memory Collections
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Global Music Archive – Digital Collection of East African Recordings
The Global Music Archive is a resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americans. Hosted by Vanderbilt University, the Digital Collection of East African Recordings provides searching and browsing by region, language, ethnic group, and and musical instrument.
The Internet Archive Wayback Machine
Created by Florida Atlantic University, the Judaica Sound Archives is online searchable archive of Judaica sound recordings. The archive includes recordings of Yiddish, Hebrew and Sephardic music in any language from the various countries where Jews have lived, both secular and religious. The music is provided in a non-downloadable streaming audio format.
MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada
Created by MUNFLA, the Memorial University of Newfoundland Folklore and Language Archive, this resources provides access to information about songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.
Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican-American Recordings
U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
The materials posted here are mostly presented using Fair Use guidelines.
High-quality resources in a variety of subjects. It is aimed at high school and college level users.
Download or listen to free movies, films, and videos.
Videos for the Classroom
This collection will house videos that can be used in a flipped, blended or totally online classroom. These may be videos that Iowa teachers have found through their classroom work or videos they have developed and used in their classroom.
A shared digital video collection
Inspiring thinkers on a range of subjects present big ideas and lectures on a regular basis- completely CC licensed.
A social network of video producers. Look for a wide variety of content- some is completely open for redistribution, some is open access.