Introduction to Special Collections and Archives

This guide offers an introduction to special collections and archives for first-time users of LSU Libraries - Special Collections, located in Hill Memorial Library on LSU's Baton Rouge campus.

Special collections consist of unique materials that serve as both primary and secondary sources for individuals engaged in original research. These collections are considered "special" due to their rarity, historical significance, monetary worth, or research potential.

Archives, on the other hand, are collections of original records created throughout the life of an individual, family, organization, or business. These materials serve as vital evidence of the activities, events, functions, and responsibilities of their creators.

While archives and special collections share the goal of preserving valuable materials, they differ from libraries in terms of the types of items collected and the methods used for acquisition, organization, description, and public access. These distinctions necessitate the development of specific policies and procedures to ensure that these collections remain accessible and preserved for future generations.

LSU Special Collections houses books and published materials, manuscripts and unpublished materials, photographs, maps, official records of LSU, Louisiana newspapers, state documents, and oral histories.

Primary sources are original materials created at the time an event occurred or by individuals directly involved in the event. These sources offer first-hand accounts and direct evidence of historical, cultural, or personal experiences. Examples include diaries, letters, photographs, newspaper articles written at the time, official documents, speeches, and original research data.

Secondary sources interpret, analyze, or critique primary sources. They are created after the event has taken place and often provide context, commentary, or evaluation based on the information found in primary sources. Examples include textbooks, biographies, scholarly articles that review past research, documentaries, and historical analyses.

For informational questions, call the front desk at (225) 578-6544.

For research assistance, call the reference desk at (225) 578-6568.