Research Guides: News &amp; Newspapers: International News

Historical International Newspapers (LSU databases)

British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of 19th-century British society.The collection includes Parts I-V and covers the years 1732-1950.
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
The Daily Mail Historical Archive provides more than 100 years of news stories that capture 20th century culture and society and includes copious advertisements.
Latin American Newspapers Series 1 (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1, 1805-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
Latin American Newspapers Series 2 (1822-1922) This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers, Series 2, 1822-1922, offer unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. Together, both series of Latin American Newspapers chronicles the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 This link opens in a new window
The Telegraph Historical Archive provides access to an archive of 1 million pages. The paper is considered to be Britain's first "penny newspaper" and became the largest-selling newspaper in the world by 1876.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of the Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.

Contemporary International Newspapers (via LSU databases)

The titles listed below are a selection of popular international newspapers available at LSU Libraries. These titles are either published in or translated into English.

China Daily
Full Text: 02/02/2012 - Present
via Nexis Uni
Dawn (Pakistan)
Full Text: 12/04/2012 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Globe and Mail (Canada)
Full Text: 11/14/977 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Guardian (London)
Full Text: 07/14/1984 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Irish Times
Full Text: 06/01/1992 - Present
via Next Uni
The Japan Times
Full Text: 1998 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Jerusalem Post
Full Text: 1989 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Korea Times
Full Text: 06/16/1998 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Sydney Morning Herald
Full Text: 09/01/1986 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Times of India
Full Text: 01/07/2010 - Present
via Nexis Uni
The Toronto Star (Ontario, CA)
Full Text: 07/10/1985 - Present
via Access World News Research Collection

Search a News Aggregator Database for Current International News Sources

What is a "news aggregator database"?

The resources listed below include full-text access to current articles from newspapers, news websites, trade publications, television news transcripts, and much more. These databases are known as news aggregators, which means that multiple news sources have been organized into one research tool.

The advantage of using a news aggregator database is the ability to easily search multiple news sources with one search.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Includes text (and some images) from newspapers, magazines, newswires, television news transcripts, audio, video, and web-only content.
Languages: Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and more.
Coverage: As early as 1970s/1980s, but varies by publication
Title list: At the top of the Access World News homepage, click on "A-Z Source List". Search by title, location, or language.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes text (and some video) from newspapers, magazines, newswires, and transcripts.
Coverage: As early as 1980s, but varies by publication
Title list: Select "Publications" from the top menu bar.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source type: newspapers, magazines, newswires, and some television news transcripts.
Languages: Arabic, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and more.
Coverage: As early as 1980s/1990s, but varies by publication
Title list: At the top of the Nexis Uni home page, use the "Menu" to select "All Sources". Narrow sources only to news by selecting "News" under "Category". To search for a specific source, use the "Search Within Sources" box.

Online Digital Resources - International Newspaper Archives

Historical Digital Newspaper Archives from all over the World
Mostly free access. Links to scores of archives by country, in Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia & South Pacific, North America, South America, Latin America, & the Caribbean. From Providence College.
ICON's Newspaper Archive Links
Free and pay sites included. See links to digitized newspaper archives from around the world, by country. From ICON, (International Coalition on Newspapers) based at the Center for Research Libraries
Latin-American News & Newspapers
Over 100 contemporary Latin-American news resources, mostly in Spanish, many with archives that don't go back very far. Scroll down page for links to Spanish language papers in the U.S. From LANIC, the Latin American Network Information Center at the University of Texas at Austin.
The Gazette (1665-1998)
The Gazette has been recording national and international events since November 1665, in its first incarnation as The Oxford Gazette. The Gazette is formally the combination of three publications: The London Gazette, The Belfast Gazette and The Edinburgh Gazette. The Gazettes are official journals of record.

Video: How to Find a Specific News Source at LSU Libraries

Searching E-Journals for Full Text Access to Specific Newspaper Title

Searching the Library Catalog for a Newspaper on Microfilm

News & Newspapers

Historical International Newspapers (LSU databases)

Contemporary International Newspapers (via LSU databases)

Search a News Aggregator Database for Current International News Sources

Online Digital Resources - International Newspaper Archives

Video: How to Find a Specific News Source at LSU Libraries

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement