Entomology: Reference Sources
Research Guide for Entomology. This guide is a great starting place for research!
Agriculture Librarian
Randa Lopez Morgan
She/Her
Additional Help
- Citation HelpA research guide created by LSU Libraries that covers the importance of academic integrity and the basics of citing sources in different styles.
Reference Sources
- Invasive Species CompendiumThe Invasive Species Compendium (ISC) is an encyclopaedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide.
- entomology encyclopediasearch the catalog for electronic entomology encyclopedias
- Insects -- Encyclopediascatalog search for electronic insect encyclopedias
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- antbase.orgAntbase is a collaborative effort between scientists from around the world, aiming at providing the best possible access to the wealth of information on ants. Searchable by taxon or author.
- AntWebAntWeb illustrates this diversity by providing information and high quality color images of many of the approximately 10,000 known species of ants. AntWeb currently focuses on the species of the Nearctic and Malagasy biogeographic regions, and the ant genera of the world. Over time, the site will grow to describe every species of ant known.
- Catalogue of Life 2009 Annual ChecklistThe Species 2000 & ITIS Catalogue of Life is planned to become a comprehensive catalogue of all known species of organisms on Earth. Rapid progress has been made recently and this, the ninth edition of the Annual Checklist, contains 1,160,711species. Please note that this is probably just more than half of the world’s known species. This means that for many groups it continues to be deficient, and users will notice that many species are still missing from the Catalogue.
- Encyclopedia of Life- Insectaur knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice.
- The Global Lepidoptera Names Index(Natural History Museum, UK) LepIndex is an archive to the scientific names of the living and fossil butterflies and moths (Lepidoptera) of the world.
- ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemAuthoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
- NCBI Taxonomy(National Center for Biotechnology Information) The NCBI taxonomy database contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence. This database is searchable by both common and scientific names and provides lineages for many taxa as well as links to gene and protein data and other external Internet resources. The "Taxonomy Resources" link in the left hand column provides an extensive list of other Internet taxonomy guides and databases.
- ScaleNet: Scale Insects (Coccoidea) DatabaseThe objective of this site is to provide comprehensive information on the scale insects of the world, including queriable information on their classification, nomenclatural history, distribution, hosts, and literature.
- The Systematic Entomology LaboratoryDatabase access; insect identification request forms, electronic reprints from SEL scientists.
- Tree of Life Web Project (ToL)The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library Flickr CollectionsThis Flickr page provides free access to over 65,000 illustrations selected from books digitized by Biodiversity Heritage Library. The images span over five hundred years and represent most types of organisms.
- BugGuide.NetAn online community of naturalists who enjoy learning about and sharing our observations of insects, spiders, and other related creatures.
- Entomology Illustration Archives(Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Entomology Department) "The Entomology Illustration Archive currently consists of approximately 6000 catalogued illustrations in a variety of media and styles."
- Insect Taxonomic Orders ChartWith Images
- IPM ImagesBugwood Images is a grant-funded project that was started in 1994 by the University of Georgia’s Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health.Bugwood Images provides an easily accessible archive of high quality images for use in educational applications. It is made up of five major website interfaces. These are ForestryImages, IPMImages, InsectImages, WeedImages, and Invasive.org.
- PaDIL - Pests and Diseases Image Library(PaDIL is an initiative of the Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry) Offering high-quality color diagnostic images and information on pests and diseases along with a number of comparative native Australian species.
Having Trouble Getting Access?
In order to access the LSU Libraries' resources, please make sure that you are logged into your myLSU. Failure to do so may result in you being unable to access our information.
Steps for Logging into the Libraries' website using your myLSU
1. Log into your myLSU
2. Scroll down and look on the left-hand side for the words, "Library Resources"
3. Select, "LSU Libraries Home Page"
Once you have clicked that link, you should be logged into all of the libraries resources.
For difficulties using any of our resources, please contact the Research Help Desk.
