E.J. Ourso College of Business
12 Agencies of the Department of Commerce
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)
Economic Development Administration (EDA)
Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
International Trade Administration (ITA)
Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA)
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
NAICS Search
Adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system, the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data.
NAICS Search
Online Resources -- United States
- Agricultural Tariff TrackerTool from the USDA Foreign Agricultural Service. Search for product tariffs, tariff-rate quotas and information on safeguards.
- BERA: Business & Economics Research AdvisorBusiness reference resources from the Library of Congress
- BLS: Databases, Tables & Calculators by SubjectProvided by the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
- Business, Economic, and Labor HistoryFrom the Library of Congress: A special collections of materials of interest to researchers in a variety of disciplines, including U.S. business and labor history.
- Business Employment Dynamics DataBusiness Employment Dynamics is a set of statistics generated from the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages program. These quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward. These data help to provide a picture of the dynamic state of the labor market.
- Consumer Price IndexThe Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
- EDGAR: Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval SystemRequired filings of all companies, foreign and domestic.
- eLaws: Employment Laws Assistance for Workers and Small BusinessesA collection of online tools developed by the U.S. Department of Labor to help employers and employees learn more about their rights and responsibilities.
- Export.govDeveloped by international trade experts and economists, Export.gov provides trusted market intelligence, practical advice and business tools (e.g. export guides) to help U.S. companies expand in global markets.
- FTA Tariff ToolThe FTA Tariff Tool is an online resource to help you determine the tariff, or tax at the border, that certain foreign countries will collect when your product crosses into their country. In trade agreements, countries commit to lowering tariff rates over time to zero. The FTA Tariff Data Tool is a database with all of the rates the United States’ Free Trade Agreement (FTA) partners have committed to implementing and maintaining.
- Minority Business Development AgencyThe only Federal Government agency solely dedicated to the growth and global competitiveness of minority business enterprise.
- Census Business Builder: Small Business EditionAllows small business owners a way to easily navigate to and use key demographic and economic data to help guide their research
- Small Business Administration Development CentersThey provide assistance to small businesses and aspiring entrepreneurs throughout the United States and its territories. SBDCs help entrepreneurs realize the dream of business ownership and help existing businesses remain competitive in a complex, ever-changing global marketplace.
- IRS: Small Business Forms and PublicationsContains links to Internal Revenue Service forms and publications
- Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)Provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.
- ALFRED: Archival FREDRetrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history
- FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic ResearchA data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. Find economic data as well as Federal Reserve System publications.
- Consumer Price IndexThe Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
- Beige BookSummary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District
Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. - Bureau of Economic Analysis - BEAAccess national (e.g. NIPA, gross product by industry), international (e.g. balance of payments, exports and imports), and regional (e.g. state personal and per capita income) data.
- Economic CensusThe Economic Census provides detailed statistics that are important for industries and communities. Business owners and managers can compare the operating data for their business to totals and averages for their industry (such as sales per employee) from the national, state, and even local level to evaluate their current operations. Business owners and managers can also compare the data for their business to businesses in related industries and other industries in their local area.
- Economics & Statistics AdministrationThe Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) plays three key roles within the Department of Commerce (DOC). ESA provides timely economic analysis, disseminates national economic indicators, and oversees the U.S. Census Bureau (Census) and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
- Budget of the United States GovernmentIssued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.