About this Guide
This guide lists resources for a wide variety of topics, and historical periods for undergraduate and graduate research. For more information on basic services available for graduate study and teaching, see the Resources for Graduate Students research guide.
Click this link to search Discovery.
Click this link to search the Catalog only.
Art & Design Librarian
Marty Miller
She/her/hers
Ebooks
This is a list of ebooks by subject that are available in our Online Catalog. This is not a comprehensive list. To find ebooks in Discovery or the Catalog be sure to choose 'ebooks only' on the search screen before you type in your topic and click the search button.
- Information VisualizationSubject heading used for Data Visualization.
Print Books
You can search for Books and Ebooks using the Library's Discovery database. Go to https://lib.lsu.edu to get started.
Below are some examples of print books relating to architecture and interior design. For a brief description of the contents, move your mouse over the 'i' icon next to the title
Architectural Research Methods by
ARCHITECTURAL RESEARCH METHODS ARCHITECTURE/GENERAL A PRACTICAL GUIDE TO RESEARCH FOR ARCHITECTS AND DESIGNERS--NOW UPDATED AND EXPANDED! From searching for the best glass to prevent glare to determining how clients might react to the color choice for restaurant walls, research is a crucial tool that architects must master in order to effectively address the technical, aesthetic, and behavioral issues that arise in their work. This book's unique coverage of research methods is specifically targeted to help professional designers and researchers better conduct and understand research. Part I explores basic research issues and concepts, and includes chapters on relating theory to method and design to research. Part II gives a comprehensive treatment of specific strategies for investigating built forms. In all, the book covers seven types of research, including historical, qualitative, correlational, experimental, simulation, logical argumentation, and case studies and mixed methods. Features new to this edition include: Strategies for investigation, practical examples, and resources for additional information A look at current trends and innovations in research Coverage of design studio-based research that shows how strategies described in the book can be employed in real life A discussion of digital media and online research New and updated examples of research studies A new chapter on the relationship between design and research Architectural Research Methods is an essential reference for architecture students and researchers as well as architects, interior designers, landscape architects, and building product manufacturers.
Call Number: NA2000 .G76 2013ISBN: 9780470908556
Basics Detail Drawing by
The aesthetic and constructive quality of a building is also significantly determined by the careful design and implementation of details. Detailed drawings are developed on the basis of the working drawings; they form an important part of the specification and contain precise information for the tradesmen, indicating how materials are to be used and how they are to be joined. Drawings are produced in various degrees of detail. Depending on the function of the drawings, they are produced in scales from 1:20 to 1:1 in order to define the materials and method of joining, and to better illustrate the various dimensions. Basics Detailed Drawings explains, step by step, how to compose detailed designs and produce correct construction drawings, using clear examples.
Call Number: NA680 .V54 2018ISBN: 9783035613797
Modern Architecture and Interiors by
This atlas of more than one thousand Modernist architectural masterpieces uncovers hidden gems while offering new perspectives on old favorites. In 2006, architecture and design curator Adam Stech embarked on a photographic project to document the best Modernist architecture around the globe. More than thirty countries and more than a decade later, the fruits of that monumental project are gathered in this impressive collection covering nearly a century of architectural history. Driven by a passion for rediscovering forgotten or lesser known architectural treasures of Modernism, Stech took thousands of diverse photographs of exteriors and interiors. This survey features often overlooked details and hidden projects that Stech helps bring to light. His brief commentary on each featured building reveals insights into his vast collection of images that includes treasures of Italian Modernism, American mid-century classics, South American Art Deco, Belgian organic architecture, French Brutalism, forgotten Australian modern houses, and much more. This expansive and inspiring book is the definitive guide to architecture in the 20th century in all its different forms and tendencies from its strict rationalist to flamboyant decorative styles.
Call Number: NA682 .M63 S73 2021ISBN: 9783791386096
Design for Flooding by
?Design for Flooding contains considerable usefulinformation for practitioners and students. Watson and Adams fillthe void for new thinking?and they advance our ability tocreate more sustainable, regenerative, and resilient places.??Landscape Architecture Magazine
Call Number: NA2541 ,W38 2011ISBN: 9780470475645
Climates by
This book is a collection of essays at the intersection of architecture and climate change. Neither a collective lament nor an inventory of architectural responses, the essays consider cultural values ascribed to climate and ask how climate re? ects our conception of what architecture is and does. Which materials and conceptual infrastructures render climate legible, knowable, and actionable, and what are their spatial implications? How do these interrelated questions offer new vantage points on the architectural rami? cations of climate change at the interface of resiliency, sustain-ability, and ecotechnology? 'Climates' also contains a dossier of precedents for thinking about architecture and climate change drawn from a number of leading practitioners. New approaches to understanding climate in architecture make this book invaluable.This publication is a project by The Avery Review, a journal produced by the Of?ce of Publications at Columbia University's Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. 150 images
Call Number: NA2541 .C544 2016ISBN: 9783037784945
Human Factors in the Built Environment by
Human Factors in the Built Environment, Second Edition explains the relationship of the human body and space planning to the design process so that you can plan and detail interiors. Key topics include proxemics, anthropometrics, ergonomics, sensory components, diversity, global concerns, health and safety, environmental considerations, special populations, and universal (inclusive) design. Recipient of the American Society of Interior Designers Joel Polsky Prize, this book has all the information you need in a quick reference format. Human Factors in the Built Environment STUDIO -Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips -Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501323423 .
Call Number: NA2542.4 .N87 2018ISBN: 9781501320385
History of Interior Design by
History of Interior Design, Second Edition, covers the history of architecture, interiors, and furniture globally, from ancient times through the late twentieth century. Each chapter gives you background information about the social and cultural context and technical innovations of the period and place, and illustrates their impact on interior design motifs. The book highlights cross-cultural influences of styles and designs, showing you how interior design is a continuing exchange of ideas. This second edition expands global coverage to Latin American, African, and Asian cultures and integrates green design into historic developments. You'll learn to use your understanding of the past to design for the present and find inspiration for your future designs. New to this Edition ~ Expanded discussion and new chronological organization of Latin American, African, and Asian cultures. ~ New chapter on Islamic design. ~ Additional information on technological developments in materials, processes, and structural design. ~ Integration of green design and its historic development. ~ Increased emphasis on modern design. History of Interior Design STUDIO ~ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ~ Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN (9781501321962).
Call Number: NK1710 .I74 2018ISBN: 9781501319884
Interior Design Visual Presentation by
A newly updated and comprehensive guide to all aspects of visual design From doing a quick sketch to producing a fully rendered model, the ability to create visual representations of designs is a critical skill for every designer. Interior Design Visual Presentation, Fifth Edition offers thorough coverage of interior design communication used throughout the design process, complete with a broad range of real-world examples. This fully updated handbook presents a full range of styles and techniques used for interior design visual communication, from hand drawing to 3D computer modeling. Its accessible, how-to approach guides you through a variety of methods for executing creative and successful design graphics, models, and presentations. Recognizing the ongoing proliferation of digital tools for visual representation, this edition provides the latest information on software used in presentation such as Photoshop, and SketchUp, and covers the integration of Revit, and AutoCAD generated content into design presentations. * Covers all aspects of visual design and presentation for interior designers * Includes color illustrations that feature a wide range of project types including residential, healthcare and public projects, designed to highlight step-by-step instructions * Provides a discussion of incorporation of 3D digital models into presentations including use in virtual reality, and expanded information on scale models including a discussion of 3D printing * Includes a companion website for instructors, featuring PowerPoint lecture slides and an instructor's manual From traditional to cutting-edge techniques, Interior Design Visual Presentation, Fifth Edition gives students and professionals alike the tools to give life to their design vision.
Call Number: NK2113.5 .M58 2018ISBN: 9781119312529
Prototyping for Architects by
Prototyping is an essential part of designers' repertoires, allowing them to test their projects from structural, aesthetic, and technical standpoints. Prototyping for Architects examines how architects are combining new digital design and fabrication technologies with traditional hands-on building techniques to gain more insight into the strengths and weaknesses of their designs.Beginning with an introduction charting the rise of prototyping in design history, this cutting-edge volume for students and professionals presents an extensive range of prototyping techniques, followed by a selection of 30 projects by leading contemporary international architects.Jane and Mark Burry explain how prototyping at a miniature scale helps communicate complex spatial ideas; how prototyping empowers the architect-designer to test and prove a building's feasibility; and how additive (3D printing) or subtractive (robotic milling) prototyping can lead to exciting new design possibilities. A reference section, which includes a glossary of technical terms, offers further information and clarification.
ISBN: 9780500343050Publication Date: NA2750 .B878 2016
