The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Brings together statistical information from the Federal Government. It includes the American Statistics Index (ASI) and Abstracts beginning in 1973 and full-text to over 800 U.S. Government statistical publications beginning in 1995.
SimplyAnalytics is a powerful analytical and data visualization tool to create charts, reports, and maps. Access demographic, business, and marketing data from sources such as Nielsen, Dun & Bradstreet, and SimmonsLOCAL. Demographic variables include housing, employment, transportation, and families.
Create an account using your LSU email address or sign in as a guest.
Note: This database only allows 4 concurrent users.
Statista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided as well as several download formats for direct integration into various end products.
This new edition of Allan G. Johnson′s one-volume sociology dictionary includes 75 new entries, as well as an expanded biographical section, extensive revisions and updates, and a more thorough cross-referencing. Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, it is aimed primarily at students, but will also be of use to professionals looking for an introduction to core concepts outside their area of expertise. Its combination of clear prose, engaging examples, a single author′s voice, and its minimal assumptions about the average reader′s prior knowledge of sociology and its related fields, makes this a unique and valuable reference work.
This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline Distilled from the highly regarded Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, with entries completely revised and updated to provide succinct and up-to-date coverage of the fundamental topics Global in scope, both in terms of topics and contributors Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume
Handbook of Environmental Sociology
by Riley E. Dunlap (Editor); William Michelson (Editor)
This handbook provides a broad overview of the field of social psychology and up-to-date coverage of current social psychological topics. It reflects the recent and substantial development of the field, both with regard to theory and empirical research. It starts out by covering major theoretical perspectives, including the inter actionist, identity, social exchange, social structure and the person perspectives. Next, it discusses development and socialization in childhood, adolescence and adulthood. In addition to updated discussions of topics that were included in the first edition, the part examining personal processes includes entirely new topics, such as social psychology and the body and individual agency and social motivation. Interpersonal processes are discussed from a contemporary perspective with a focus on stress and health. The final section examines the person in sociocultural context and includes another topic new to the second edition, the social psychology of race and gender and intersectionality.
The Handbook of Social Research Ethics
by Donna M. Mertens; Pauline E. Ginsberg
Call Number: H62 .H24565 2009
Publication Date: 2008-09-26
The Handbook of Social Research Ethics is the first comprehensive volume of its kind to offer a deeper understanding of the history, theory, philosophy, and implementation of applied social research ethics. Editors Donna M. Mertens and Pauline Ginsberg bring together eminent, international scholars across the social and behavioral sciences and education to address the ethical issues that arise in the theory and practice of research within the technologically advancing and culturally complex world in which we live. In addition, this volume examines the ethical dilemmas that arise in the relationship between research practice and social justice issues. Key Features Situates the ethical concerns in the practice of social science research in historical and epistemological contexts Explores the philosophical roots of ethics from the perspectives of Kant, J.S. Mill, Hegel, and others Provides an overview and comparison of ethical regulations across disciplines, governments, and additional contexts such as IRBs, program evaluation, and more Examines specific ethical issues that arise in traditional methods and methodologies Addresses ethical concerns within a variety of diverse, cultural contexts Intended Audience This reference is an invaluable resource for university faculty, researchers, ethicists, IRB members, social science practitioners, graduate students, and program evaluators throughout the social and behavioral sciences.
Our lives as human beings are characterized by production and use of social resources, material (e.g., money and physical possessions) as well as immaterial (such as love, knowledge, and power). Distribution and exchange of these resources are central to individuals'' physical and mental health and quality of life. Over the past four decades, Social Resource Theory (SRT) has evolved to build vital links between social psychology and public policy, providing a valuable lens for understanding and addressing social class, inequality, and injustice. The recent conceptual and theoretical developments and future prospects of this robust field are on full display in this Handbook of Social Resource Theory. An international, interdisciplinary panel of experts expands on the pioneering work of the late Dr. Uriel Foa and his wife Edna Foa, starting with the basic structure of SRT. The Handbook includes integrations of SRT with other social scientific frameworks, analyses of organizational and cultural issues, reports of empirical research using various methods, as well as applications to different areas including: Social justice Quality of life Interpersonal relationships Social dilemmas Stress management Work satisfaction Cognitive development Consumer behavior Cross-cultural behavior Covering human social transactions from the interpersonal to the intercultural levels, the Handbook of Social Resource Theory extends this relevant line of study to enhance the work of social psychologists, sociologists, anthropologists, political scientists, and public policy makers. nbsp;"The Handbook presents the basic tenets of the social resource theory originated from the late Uriel Foa and provides an authoritative agenda for the future developments of this theory. Kjell Törnblom and Ali Kazemi have made an excellent job in gathering a global group of contributing scholars representing an outstanding mix of respected and long-standing researchers in social psychology, sociology, psychology, management, economics and marketing, political science, history, and applied ethics/philosophy. This Handbook is an ideal resource for researchers, instructors, and graduate students in all these fields with an interest in social resource theory." Edna B. Foa Professor of Clinical Psychology, University of Pennsylvania "Uriel Foa (1916-1990) developed social resource theory in the 1960s.nbsp; In the next half century this theory has generated an enormous amount of new data and theory in social, cross-cultural, and educational psychology, as well as in related disciplines. It has inspired work on interpersonal relationships, attributions, the understanding of status, morality, distributive justice, procedural justice, social dilemmas, interpersonal evaluation, biosocial theory, and action construal. Applications in both organizational and educational settings and in marketing studies indicate the theory''s relevance for the "real world." This volume edited by Kjell Törnblom and Ali Kazemi is the wonderful Festschrift that Foa did not have, because he died when he was too young by contemporary life expectancy standards. It includes chapters by many of the stars of the fields that social resource theory has influenced." Harry C. Triandis Professor Emeritus, University of Illinoisnbsp; "Forty years ago Edna and Uriel Foa began to spell out the unwritten social rules by which we trade - on a daily basis - friendship, information, respect, gifts, favors and other rewards and punishments. Sociologists, psychologists, economists, and others owe the editors a tremendous debt of gratitude for reminding us of the eloquence and indispensability of the original work on social resource theory and for bringing together a distinguished roster of scholars and scientists to reflect on the theory and to exercise it in the service of addressing an astonishing number and variety of important social and organizational problems." John T. Jost Professor of Psychology and Politics, New York University "What material and symbolic goods count as resources? How do resources relate to power? How can the exchange and distribution of resources be understood in both interpersonal and societal terms? In this outstanding volume, Törnblom and Kazemi bring together a constellation of experts from a variety of disciplines to address questions such as these. Taking as their basis the classic statement by Uriel and Edna Foa of the resource theory of social exchange, the Handbook moves through theoretical to practical analyses and presents both laboratory and field research conducted in a number of different countries. The book makes an excellent contribution to our understanding of social exchange theory in particular and of social relationships in general. The collection is both impressive and important." Faye J Crosby Professor of Psychology, University of California Santa Cruz "A tour de force, this comprehensive volume presents cutting edge insights inspired by Foa and Foa''s social resource theory. Törnblom and Kazemi have brought together a stellar cast to address ageless questions about the cornerstones of social life and provide generative roadmaps for future theorizing and research. This volume is a rich resource for scholars as well as students and educated readers who want to know more about the complexities of social life." Linda J. Skitka Professor of Psychology, University of Illinois at Chicago
Handbook of the Sociology of Aging
by Jacqueline L. Angel (Editor); Richard A. Settersten (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-05-11
The Handbook of Sociology of Aging is the most comprehensive, engaging, and up-to-date treatment of developments within the field over the past 30 years. The volume represents an indispensable source of the freshest and highest standard scholarship for scholars, policy makers, and aging professionals alike. The Handbook of Sociology of Aging contains 45 far-reaching chapters, authored by nearly 80 of the most renowned experts, on the most pressing topics related to aging today. With its recurring attention to the social forces that shape human aging, and the social consequences and policy implications of it, the contents will be of interest to everyone who cares about what aging means for individuals, families, and societies. The chapters of the Handbook of Sociology of Aging illustrate the field's extraordinary breadth and depth, which has never before been represented in a single volume. Its contributions address topics that range from foundational matters, such as classic and contemporary theories and methods, to topics of longstanding and emergent interest, such as social diversity and inequalities, social relationships, social institutions, economies and governments, social vulnerabilities, public health, and care arrangements. The volume closes with a set of personal essays by senior scholars who share their experiences and hopes for the field, and an essay by the editors that provides a roadmap for the decade ahead. The Handbook of Sociology of Aging showcases the very best that sociology has to offer the study of human aging.
Handbook of the Sociology of Education
by Maureen T. Hallinan (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-11-24
This wide-ranging handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the field of education as viewed from a sociological perspective. Experts in the area present theoretical and empirical research on major educational issues and analyze the social processes that govern schooling, and the role of schools in and their impact on contemporary society. A major reference work for social scientists who want an overview of the field, graduate students, and educators.
Handbook of the Sociology of Emotions
by Jan E. Stets (Editor); Jonathan H. Turner (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
Handbook of the Sociology of Emotions Volume II presents all new chapters in the ever developing area of the sociology of emotions. The volume is divided into two sections: Theoretical Perspectives and Social Arenas of Emotions. It reviews major sociological theories on emotions, which include evolutionary theory, identity theory, affect control theory, social exchange theory, ritual theory, and cultural theory among others. Social arenas where emotions are examined include, but are not limited to, the economy and the workplace, the family, mental health, crime, sports, technology, social movements and the field of science. All the chapters review the major theories and research in the area and each chapter ends with some discussion of directions for future research. The Sociology of Emotions is a fast growing and vital field in the broad discipline of Sociology. This volume II follows the Handbook of the Sociology of Emotions which was first published in 2006. In 2008, this first handbook received the "Outstanding Recent Contribution" in the Emotions Section of the American Sociological Association. With contributions from leading scholars from different areas in the discipline, such as neurosociology, culture, economics, mental health, gender, social movements, discussing state-of-art theory and research on emotions in sociology this volume will generate wider appeal to the sociological community.
Handbook of the Sociology of Emotions
by Jan E. Stets (Editor); Jonathan H. Turner (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007-02-25
Since the 1970s, the study of emotions moved to the forefront of sociological analysis. This book brings the reader up to date on the theory and research that have proliferated in the analysis of human emotions. The first section of the book addresses the classification, the neurological underpinnings, and the effect of gender on emotions. The second reviews sociological theories of emotion. Section three covers theory and research on specific emotions: love, envy, empathy, anger, grief, etc. The final section shows how the study of emotions adds new insight into other subfields of sociology: the workplace, health, and more.
Handbook of the Sociology of Health, Illness, and Healing
by Bernice A. Pescosolido (Editor); Jack K. Martin (Editor); Jane D. McLeod (Editor); Anne Rogers (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
The Handbook of the Sociology of Health, Illness & Healing advances the understanding of medical sociology by identifying the most important contemporary challenges to the field and suggesting directions for future inquiry. The editors provide a blueprint for guiding research and teaching agendas for the first quarter of the 21st century. In a series of essays, this volume offers a systematic view of the critical questions that face our understanding of the role of social forces in health, illness and healing. It also provides an overall theoretical framework and asks medical sociologists to consider the implications of taking on new directions and approaches. Such issues may include the importance of multiple levels of influences, the utility of dynamic, life course approaches, the role of culture, the impact of social networks, the importance of fundamental causes approaches, and the influences of state structures and policy making.
Handbook of the Sociology of Mental Health
by Carol S. Aneshensel (Editor); Alex Bierman (Editor); Jo C. Phelan (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-07-16
This second edition of the Handbook of the Sociology of Mental Health features theory-driven reviews of recent research with a comprehensive approach to the investigation of the ways in which society shapes the mental health of its members and the lives of those who have been diagnosed as having a mental illness The award-winning Handbook is distinctive in its focus on how the organization and functioning of society influences the occurrence of mental disorder and its consequences. A core issue that runs throughout the text concerns the differential distribution of mental illness across various social strata, defined by status characteristics such as gender, race/ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and age. The contributions to this volume shed light on the social, cultural, and economic factors that explain why some social groups have an elevated risk of disorder. They also address the social repercussions of mental disorder for individuals, including stigmatization within the larger society, and for their families and social networks. The second edition of this seminal volume includes substantial updates to previous chapters, as well as seven new chapters on: -The Individual's Experience of Mental Illness.--The Medicalization of Mental Illness.---Age, Aging, and Mental Health.- -Religion and Mental Health.- -Neighborhoods and Mental Health.- -Mental Health and the Law--and Public Beliefs about Mental Illness.
Handbook of the Sociology of Religion
by Michele Dillon
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Religion is a critical construct for understanding contemporary social life. It illuminates the everyday experiences and practices of many individuals, is a significant component of diverse institutional processes including politics, gender relations, and socioeconomic inequality, and plays a vital role in public culture and social change. This handbook showcases current research and thinking in the sociology of religion. The contributors, all active writers and researchers int eh area, provide original chapters focusing on select aspects of their own engagement with the field. Aimed at students and scholars who want to know more about the sociology of religion, this handbook also provides a resource for sociologists in general by integrating broader questions of sociology (e.g. demography, ethnicity, life course, inequality, political sociology) into the analysis of religion. Broadly inclusive of traditional research topics (modernity, secularization, politics) as well as newer interests (feminism, spirituality, faith-based community action), this handbook illustrates the validity of diverse theoretical perspectives and research designs to understanding the multilayered nature of religion as a sociological phenomenon.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Research Methods
by Julia Brannen (Editor); Pertti Alasuutari (Editor); Leonard Bickman (Editor)
Call Number: H62 .S2755 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-25
The SAGE Handbook for Social Research Methods is a must for every social-science researcher. It charts the new and evolving terrain of social research methodology, covering qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods in one volume. The Handbook includes chapters on each phase of the research process: research design, methods of data collection, and the processes of analyzing and interpreting data. As its editors maintain, there is much more to research than learning skills and techniques; methodology involves the fit between theory, research questions, research design, and analysis.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Science Methodology
by William Outhwaite (Editor); Stephen P. Turner (Editor)
Call Number: H62 .S276 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-08
This is a jewel among methods handbooks, bringing together a formidable collection of international contributors to comment on every aspect of the various central issues, complications, and controversies in the core methodological traditions. It is designed to meet the needs of those disciplinary and nondisciplinary problem-oriented social inquirers for a comprehensive overview of the methodological literature.