Research Guides: ENGL 2000: Nutrition & The Food Industry (Turner): Government Documents & Nutrition

Government Documents

Nutrition research demands current demographic and statistical information from reliable sources. The US Government is a trustworthy source for these information needs. Below is a collection of government websites at the state and federal level that provide the information you need for you research.

US Government (Federal) Online Resources:

Beltsville Human Nutrition Resource Center
The largest of USDA's human nutrition research facilities. The center's mission is to define, through research, the role of food and its components in optimizing human health.
Choose My Plate
Provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, gives dietary guidelines, food plans, nutritional information, and much more.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture, this resources provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
Food Safety
A gateway to food safety information provided by government agencies.
Lifecycle Nutrition
The National Agricultural Library’s Food and Nutrition Information Center provides information on infants, children, adolescents, pregnancy, breastfeeding, aging, fitness and sports, and vegetarian nutrition.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus, a service of the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, provides information on diseases, conditions, and wellness in easy to understand language for patients and their family and friends.
NHANES (National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey)
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations.
Nutrition Insights
The USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion provides a brief examination of a current food or nutrition topic.
Nutrition.gov
U.S. Department of Agriculture’s consumer page on nutrition, food safety, dietary supplements and more.
President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition Resource Center
The President’s Council engages, educates, and empowers all Americans to adopt a healthy lifestyle that includes regular physical activity and good nutrition. The President’s Council is made up of athletes, chefs, physicians, fitness professionals, and educators who are appointed by the President and serve in an advisory capacity through the Secretary of Health and Human Services. The Resource Center provides facts, statistics, research and reports on health and fitness.
USDA Economics and Statistics System
The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) contains nearly 2,500 reports and datasets from several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Most reports are text files that contain time-sensitive information. Most data sets are in spreadsheet format and include time-series data that are updated yearly.
USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
This page provides access to Release 27 of the USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference. You can either view the data here or download the data files and documentation in several different formats for use on your computer. An online search is also provided so you can look up the nutrient content of 8,618 different foods directly from this home page.

Louisiana (State) Online Resources:

Center for Community and Preventive Health
Part of the State of Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, the Center for Community and Preventive Health conducts a variety of programs and services designed to improve public health measures in Louisiana. Programs and services this center offers through the DHH Office of Public Health include screenings, health needs assessments, laboratory testing services, infectious disease reporting and nutrition programs.
Department of Health and Hospitals
The mission of the Department of Health and Hospitals is to protect and promote health and to ensure access to medical, preventive and rehabilitative services for all citizens of the State of Louisiana.
Eat Safe Louisiana
Maintained by the State of Louisiana Departmentt of Health and Human Services., this site provides information on food safety in Louisiana, such as information for older adults, commercial seafood, and oyster harvesting.
Louisiana Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition
Louisiana’s professional board responsible for consumer protection through the regulation of dietetics and nutrition practices.
Own Your Own Health
Own Your Own Health is an initiative sponsored by the State of Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals. Here you can find information on recommended caloric intake, health tips, and a resource guide.
Louisiana Demographics & Census Geography
Census data for Louisiana to assist with your demographic research.
Louisiana State Census Data Center - Other Statistics
Data presented here includes economic, education, labor, and health statistics for the state of Louisiana.

ENGL 2000: Nutrition & The Food Industry (Turner)

Government Documents

Federal and State Resources

Provide Website Feedback Accessibility Statement

Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement