It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hover your mouse over the 'i' icon for a brief description of the ebook.
A Companion to Ancient Egyptian Art by Melinda K. Hartwig (Editor)"A Companion to Ancient Egyptian Art" presents a comprehensive collection of original essays exploring key concepts, critical discourses, and theories that shape the discipline of ancient Egyptian art. - Features contributions from top scholars in their respective fields of expertise relating to ancient Egyptian art- Provides overviews of past and present scholarship and suggests new avenues to stimulate debate and allow for critical readings of individual art works- Explores themes and topics such as methodological approaches, transmission of Egyptian art and its connections with other cultures, ancient reception, technology and interpretation, - Provides a comprehensive synthesis on a discipline that has diversified to the extent that it now incorporates subjects ranging from gender theory to 'X-ray fluorescence' and 'image-based interpretations systems'
A Companion to the Ancient near East by Daniel C. Snell (Editor)A Companion to the Ancient Near East offers students and general readers a comprehensive overview of Near Eastern civilization from the Bronze Age to the conquests of Alexander the Great. Covers the civilizations of the Sumerians, Hittites, Babylonians, Assyrians, Israelites and Persians Places particular emphasis on social and cultural history Covers the legacy of the Ancient Near East in the medieval and modern worlds Provides a useful bibliographical guide to this field of study
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman RepublicThe role of archaeology has expanded over the past 30 years, and research now frequently overlaps with the work of ancient historians and classicists. This book demonstrates how archaeological methods have been used to study the era of the Roman Republic, and the influences of non-Roman cultures on its formation. A collection of original essays by both emerging and established archaeologists with a wide range of nationalities and areas of interest, this book reveals how differing approaches and methodologies contribute to an understanding of the Republic across the Mediterranean basin. Of interest both to archaeologists themselves, and to students of ancient history, art history and classics, it offers a diverse approach to a fascinating field.
A Companion to the Etruscans by Sinclair Bell; Alexandra A. CarpinoThis new collection presents a rich selection of innovative scholarship on the Etruscans, a vibrant, independent people whose distinct civilization flourished in central Italy for most of the first millennium BCE and whose artistic, social and cultural traditions helped shape the ancient Mediterranean, European, and Classical worlds. Includes contributions from an international cast of both established and emerging scholars Offers fresh perspectives on Etruscan art and culture, including analysis of the most up-to-date research and archaeological discoveries Reassesses and evaluates traditional topics like architecture, wall painting, ceramics, and sculpture as well as new ones such as textile archaeology, while also addressing themes that have yet to be thoroughly investigated in the scholarship, such as the obesus etruscus, the function and use of jewelry at different life stages, Greek and Roman topoi about the Etruscans, the Etruscans' reception of ponderation, and more Counters the claim that the Etruscans were culturally inferior to the Greeks and Romans by emphasizing fields where the Etruscans were either technological or artistic pioneers and by reframing similarities in style and iconography as examples of Etruscan agency and reception rather than as a deficit of local creativity
Publication Date: 2015-12-10
The databases listed below are those that are most likely to have information related to your research topic. Most are art-related a but a few are history databases. If you need help with using any of these, contact Marty Miller.
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. The Oxford Art Online database contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts. This includes painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
The Artstor Digital Library features an unparalleled range of images from some of the worlds leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. Artstor facilitates research and education in numerous disciplines, including art and visual studies, architecture, religion, anthropology and archaeology, global studies, fashion and costume, classics, world history, and more.
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracts from an array of publications, this database is a robust resource for art students and art historians. Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture.
• More than 360 full-text periodicals (40 more full-text than Art Full Text)
• 220 full-text books (which are not in Art Full Text)
• Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 790 academic journals, magazines and trade publications and more than 220 books
• A collection of over 63,000 images
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.