College of Music and Dramatic Arts
Performing Arts
The National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities has a long tradition of supporting performing arts. Additionally, the Library of Congress offers access to a vast collection related to the performing arts. For example:
|
|
|
Additional materials are available in print in the government documents department in the basement under NF (National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities) and LC (Library of Congress).
Library of Congress digital collections of interest:
-
Allen Lomax Collection (Library of Congress)The Alan Lomax Collection includes ethnographic field documentation, materials from Lomax’s various projects, and cross-cultural research created and collected by Alan Lomax and others on traditional song, music, dance, and body movement from around the world. Lomax conducted fieldwork in the Bahamas, the Caribbean, England, France, Georgia (Republic), Haiti, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Spain, the United States, and Wales from the 1930s-1990s. The collection contains approximately 650 linear feet of manuscripts, 6400 sound recordings, 5500 graphic images, and 6000 moving images.
-
Posters: Performing Arts PostersContains approximately 2,100 posters in the online Performing Arts Posters category represent the entire contents of three collections: the Magic Poster Collection, the Minstrel Poster Collection, and the Theatrical Poster Collection.
-
The Danny Kaye and Sylvia Fine CollectionFollowing the professional lives of the husband-wife artistic duo, this presentation features a wide variety of materials, including manuscripts, scores, scripts, photographs, sound recordings and video clips from the Danny Kaye and Sylvia Fine Collection. Kaye, a multi-faceted entertainer, worked his way from performing at summer resorts to starring in feature films and conducting major symphony orchestras. Fine, a composer and writer, went from writing revues at small theatres to composing music for Danny’s studio films and teaching at Yale University.