In 3 Minutes: Meet Your Librarian
Kinesiology, Social Work, and Health Sciences Librarian
Databases
The following is a list of resources to get you started:
- SportDiscus is focused only on sports & sports medicine, so its results will be more focused.
- PsycINFO and SocINDEX cover issues related to psychology and sociology, so if you are looking for articles about the role of sports in society, you may want to include these in your list of databases to search.
- Business Source Complete is a great place to search if you want to focus on business or economic aspects of sport in society.
- Academic Search Complete is a great multidisciplinary database to use for many subjects.
You'll find full descriptions of each of these databases below.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowERIC, sponsored by the US Department of Education, consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, (research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and books), and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 775 periodicals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIncludes an index with abstracts from over 1300 journals, dissertations, and technical reports in 30 languages from 50 countries, as well as summaries of English-language chapters and books published worldwide, concerning psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Major subject areas include: experimental psychology, developmental psychology, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, and behavioral psychology.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided as well as several download formats for direct integration into various end products.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of the most valuable full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, this database is the leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text for STM research, as well as for the Social Sciences and Humanities. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.