Kinesiology, Social Work, and Health Sciences Librarian
In 3 Minutes: Meet Your Librarian
Need Writing Help?
- CxC Writing SupportAre you looking for help with your writing? You can stop into a CxC Studio (Coates Hall 151 or Design 215) to connect with a Writing Mentor, or book an appointment online at cxc.lsu.edu/appointment (or by clicking the link above).
Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete users get fast and easy access to top nursing and allied health journals, evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
- Human Kinetics Library Core Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Human Kinetics Library is built around a mission to increase the knowledge, enhance the performance and improve the health and fitness of all people around the globe through authoritative information about physical activity and sport. The platform features a growing collection of cross-searchable ebooks and videos from the world’s leading educational publisher for fitness, exercise, coaching and sport.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the National Library of Medicine, Medline contains citations and abstracts to international biomedical literature from over 3700 journals on topics including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. OldMedline from the NLM Gateway includes the years 1958 - 1965. The ISI/Web of Knowledge Interface contains info from 1950 to the present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIncludes an index with abstracts from over 1300 journals, dissertations, and technical reports in 30 languages from 50 countries, as well as summaries of English-language chapters and books published worldwide, concerning psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Major subject areas include: experimental psychology, developmental psychology, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, and behavioral psychology.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect, published by Elsevier Science, serves as a web information source for scientific, technical, and medical (STM) research. It offers access to thousands of journals in many fields of science, including the social sciences.
PLEASE NOTE: Excessive printing and downloading, even through available functionality on ScienceDirect, is not permitted under our license and will result in loss of access and possible disciplinary action. - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus combines a comprehensive abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. It finds authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
What's in a Research Article?
Research Article Break Down
Research articles follow a particular format. Look for:
- A brief introduction will often include a review of the existing literature on the topic studied, and explain the rationale of the author's study.
- A methods section, where authors describe how they collected and analyzed data. Statistical analysis are included.
- A results section describes the outcomes of the data analysis. Charts and graphs illustrating the results are typically included.
- In the discussion, authors will explain their interpretation of their results and theorize on their importance to existing and future research.
- References or works cited are always included. These are the articles and books that the authors drew upon to plan their study and to support their discussion.
(from the Health Information Research Guide)