ENGL 2029-Drama (Glassford-Spring 2025) : Drama Review

This guide is to assist students in ENGL 2029-Spring 2025 in researching for their writing assignments

Assignment Description

The Drama Review consists of choosing a play you have watched live or recorded and complete a critical review of all the components. Lighting, costume, stage direction, skills of actor/actress, etc.

Resources

Kanopy
Kanopy offers one of the most unique and compelling collections of film on the planet. Our films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. Our sophisticated discovery engine encourages our users to challenge themselves to watch films outside of their comfort area.

BBC Shakespeare Plays
Access 37 Shakespearean plays in high definition format.
Shakespeare in Performance
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Theatre in Video, Volume II
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers views to the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
Theatre in Video Volume I
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the worlds leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers views to the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
Please note: On the Databases web page, there is a link to Theatre in Video (which is volume I). This needs to be retained. A single link to both collections is not available at this time.
Digital Theatre +
Digital Theatre+ provides access to: 500+ HD-quality films of star-studded, classical, contemporary and international productions. (RSC, BroadwayHD, Shakespeare's Globe, West End, Gecko Theatre and more) 13,000+ written study guides, essays, research materials, performance studies and workshop programmes, all designed by industry experts and leading academics. 400+ interviews with academics & practitioners focused on everything from acting to directing, lighting design to stage management.

Gale Literature Criticism
Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Gale Literature Criticism. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals..
Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
Literary Reference Plus
Literary Reference Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Plus includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.

• More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
• More than 87,000 articles/essays of literary criticism (7,000 more than LRC)
• Nearly 260,000 author biographies (10,000 more than LRC)
• More than 780 literary journals (330 more than LRC)
• Nearly 2,800 reference books (none of which are in LRC)
• More than 930,000 book reviews (30,000 more than LRC)
• More than 150,000 classic and contemporary poems (50,000 more than LRC)
• More than 35,000 classic and contemporary short stories (8,000 more than LRC)
• More than 11,000 author interviews (1,000 more than LRC)
• More than 7,400 classic novels
• Nearly 170 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) literature titles (not in LRC)
• More than 150 Critical Insights volumes (not in LRC)
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

To search for books at LSU Libraries you can use either Discovery or the Catalog

Discovery searches both the LSU Libraries catalog and multiple databases at one time. This aggregator will display physical books and e-books held by LSU Libraries as well as those not owned by LSU. You can use the limiters in Discovery to refine your search results

The LSU Libraries catalog will show you only items owned by LSU Libraries. If a URL link appears in a record, the book is available electronically. Records for print books will display a call number and the location "stacks." If you need help locating a book, consult a stacks directory or visit one of the Libraries' service desks.

Note that Discovery also searches the Hathi Trust Digital Library, a collection of 11 million digitized books from more than 50 major research libraries. Most of the books are out of copyright and therefore older, so this is a great place to search for primary sources.