INTL 4003-International Studies Senior Seminar: Government Information
Research Guide for INTL 4003- International Studies Capstone
Government Publications and Information
Visit the Government Documents and Microforms Research Guide for more information
Government Information
- Download a PDF of Intro to Government DocumentsThis is a pdf version of the Intro to Government Documents presentation above.
Searching for Government Information
Databases
While government information is freely available, the Library does subscribe to several databases that can help you utilize government documents more effectively.
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new windowAmerican State Papers, 1789-1838 enables students and scholars to easily search and browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses.
- Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowDescription: Provides access to Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003)
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowThe Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
- Government Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowBibliographic information of articles published in government periodicals. Citations will include the journal and article title, issuing agency, publication date, volume number, and pages.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is Heins premier online product with more than 138 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,300 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Presently, the database supports Chrome and Firefox only. - Proquest Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1975-2016 This link opens in a new windowSupreme Court Insight is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases that includes per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amici briefs, with harmonized subject and organization indexing. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process. This product offers links from case-specific records to other ProQuest Congressional products, including Legislative Insight and Regulatory Insight, for entitled customers.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new windowThe bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new windowCovering years of publication: 1817-1994. Includes map images, records, and indexing for maps published in Reports and Documents of the 15th Congress, 1st Session through the 103rd Congress, 2nd session.
