INTL 4003-International Studies Senior Seminar: Databases

The RIA Tax Service contains databases which cover the following broad topics Federal Tax Issues, State Tax Issues, and International Tax Issues.

Description: Provides access to Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, and Congressional Hearings (1824-2003)

CQ Press Library - the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a federal agency that monitors and translates foreign media into English. FBIS Daily Reports are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.

Bibliographic information of articles published in government periodicals. Citations will include the journal and article title, issuing agency, publication date, volume number, and pages.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.

Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 267,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Supreme Court Insight is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases that includes per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amici briefs, with harmonized subject and organization indexing. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process. This product offers links from case-specific records to other ProQuest Congressional products, including Legislative Insight and Regulatory Insight, for entitled customers.

Roper iPoll includes polling data from nearly every major organization that has conducted polls in the United States today, including academic, media, foundation, nonprofit and private industry pollsters. The archive also includes data from polling organizations based in over 120 countries. iPoll consists of over 35,000 studies with over 725,000 searchable survey questions, and over 24,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. These studies cover a vast variety of topics including elections and politics, social issues, finances and the economy, education, health, international affairs, social movements and change, and historical events. Also includes downloadable questionnaires, analysis, interviewer instructions, and cross-tab analytic tools.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Search more than 175 years of Baton Rouge history with The Advocate Collection. Coverage from 1845 through today. Explore current and archived issues of The Advocate with full-color newspaper pages and individual articles.

Founded in 1843, The Economist's principles and methods remain relevant today. It is renowned for its consistent approach to internationalism and championing of minimal state in political and government affairs. In more than 8,000 issues since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity, and wit, The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them.

**scattered content availability for the coverage years listed**

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This site provides access to all of LSU Libraries' NewsBank subscriptions, including the following: Access World News (local, regional, national and international newspapers and news sources) Archive of Americana America's Historical Imprints America's Historical Newspapers African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 American State Papers, 1789-1838 U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 Serial Set Maps Foreign Broadcast INformation Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1805-1922

Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more.

How to Activate an LSU New York Times Account

1. Select the link above
2. Select from the search Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College - Baton Rouge, LA
3. Enter all of the requested information and use your LSU email on the registration form and click Sign Up.
4. Once you create your log-in credentials, you will be able to log in using nytimes.com where access is unlimited.
5. Faculty and staff must register every four years. Student access reflects the estimated graduation date.

LSU's access includes New York Times InEducation which provides curated reading lists across several disciplines of study. To access the InEducation tool, users must activate their News subscription and log in using the same account information.

Funding for LSU's New York Times access was provided by LSU Student Government and LSU Libraries.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Proquest provides access to articles from 1877 to 2005.