ENGL 2000 (Alonso)
This online research guide has suggestions of databases that you can use you for your research paper!
Search Strategy Tip #1
When considering the fairytale that you will be researching, you'll need to think about an additional theme or aspect of the story to research. Instead of just searching "Cinderella" you may want to consider using a search string like "Cinderella AND Gender" or "Cinderella AND Modern Adaptations" or even "Cinderella AND family dynamics" --- by describing your topic a bit more with keywords, you will get more focused search results.
Search Strategy Tip #2 - Limiting Results
In all of our databases you have the opportunity to limit your results. Most of the time the limiters will be on the left-hand side of the screen and include check boxes like "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" or "Academic Journals" or even limit your results by date!
Background Information Resource from LSU Libraries
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
Discovery Search - Broad/General Results
-
DiscoveryDiscovery is LSU Libraries' Google-like search box for information sources: it will search for print books housed in LSU Library and Hill Memorial Library, scholarly journal articles in databases such as Academic Search Complete and JSTOR, and newspaper and magazine articles in the NexisUni and Access World News, all in one search.
Suggested Databases for More Focused Results
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization and a shared digital library archive of critical scholarly journal literature. Louisiana State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s): Arts & Sciences Collections I-XV, Ireland Archive Collection, Life Sciences Collection, University of California Press Collection, University of Chicago Press Collection, Business IV Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, and the Sustainability Collection.
-
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new windowLiterary Reference Plus is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Plus includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.• More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
• More than 87,000 articles/essays of literary criticism (7,000 more than LRC)
• Nearly 260,000 author biographies (10,000 more than LRC)
• More than 780 literary journals (330 more than LRC)
• Nearly 2,800 reference books (none of which are in LRC)
• More than 930,000 book reviews (30,000 more than LRC)
• More than 150,000 classic and contemporary poems (50,000 more than LRC)
• More than 35,000 classic and contemporary short stories (8,000 more than LRC)
• More than 11,000 author interviews (1,000 more than LRC)
• More than 7,400 classic novels
• Nearly 170 critical essays about popular young adult (YA) literature titles (not in LRC)
• More than 150 Critical Insights volumes (not in LRC) -
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new windowGale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Gale Literature Criticism. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals..
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is your trusted source for the highest quality books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from over 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.
Fairy Tale Journals
-
Marvels & Tales1997-present available electronically through LSU Libraries
-
Fairy Tale Review2005-present available electronically through LSU Libraries (due to publisher restrictions, the most recent 4 years are not available)
-
Notes and Queries1993-present available electronically via LSU Libraries
Need Help?
If you need help with your research, don't hesitate to set up a consultation with an LSU Librarian here: https://lsu.libcal.com/appointments
- Last Updated: Feb 13, 2025 10:47 AM
- URL: https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/alonso
- Print Page