Digital Humanities: Digital Humanities Tools
LSU Libraries provides information about digital humanities online tools, equipment, and hosting for online projects.
LSU Sites
Many of the tools highlighted on this page can be utilized within LSU Sites. For more information, please visit the LSU Sites page of this guide.
Project Creation Tools
-
Omeka Open-source web publishing platform for sharing digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibits
-
Scalar Scalar is a free, open-source authoring and publishing platform that is designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online.
-
Wordpress One of the most popular open-source web publishing platforms.
-
Mukurtu Mukurtu is a grassroots project aiming to empower communities to manage, share, narrate, and exchange their digital heritage in culturally relevant and ethically-minded ways.
-
Historypin Historypin is a place for people to share photos and stories, telling the histories of their local communities.
-
Palladio Create maps, generate network analyses. Visualize complex historical data with ease.
-
QGIS A free, open-source GIS that enables users to create, edit, visualize, analyze, and publish geospatial information.
-
StorylineJS Storyline is an open-source tool that enables anyone to build an annotated, interactive line chart.
-
StoryMapJS StoryMapJS is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events. It can be used for both maps and images like photographs and paintings.
-
TimelineJS TimelineJS is an open-source tool that enables anyone to build visually rich, interactive timelines. Beginners can create a timeline using nothing more than a Google spreadsheet.
-
OpenRefine OpenRefine is a powerful free, open source tool for working with messy data: cleaning it, transforming it from one format into another; and extending it with web services and external data.
-
Tableau A free platform to explore, create, and publicly share data visualizations online.
-
Bulk Rename Utility Bulk Renaming Utility is a file renaming software for Windows. This program is for personal use and allows you to easily rename files and entire folders based upon extremely flexible criteria.
-
DMPTool DMPTool can help generate data management plans to assist with organizing data generated from DH projects
-
Tropy Tropy is a photo organization tool that allows users to organize, annotate, tag, search, and export photo collections and research.
-
Hoaxy visualize how claims and fact checking are spread across social media
-
Oral History Metadata Synchronizer OHMS is an open source, web-based application designed to improve the user experience you provide for oral history, no matter what CMS or repository you use.
-
Stereogranimator Create and share 3D images from the stereograph collections of The New York Public Library (and others).
-
TV Corpus The TV Corpus contains 325 million words of data in 75,000 TV episodes from the 1950s to the current time. All of the 75,000 episodes are tied in to their IMDB entry, which means that you can create Virtual Corpora using extensive metadata -- year, country, series, rating, genre, plot summary, etc.
-
Soundcite SoundCite is a simple-to-use tool that lets you add inline audio to your story. The audio is not isolated; it plays within the text.
-
Annotation Studio Annotation Studio is a suite of collaborative web-based annotation tools currently under development at MIT. Users can read, annotate, share, and compose.
-
From The Page FromThePage is free software that allows volunteers to transcribe handwritten documents on-line. It's easy to index and annotate subjects within a text using a simple, wiki-like mark-up. Users can discuss difficult writing or obscure words within a page to refine their transcription. The resulting text is hosted on the web, making documents easy to read and search.
-
Google Ngram Viewer Based on Google Books content enables users to keep track of change in usage or words and terms across time.
-
HathiTrust Research Center Analytics Supports large-scale computational analysis of the works in the HathiTrust Digital Library to facilitate non-profit and educational research. Featured Services include unrestricted datasets of metadata and word counts for all HathiTrust Digital Library, Text Analysis Algorithms, Data Capsules.
-
Hypothesis Hypothesis allows users to annotate websites using a Chrome extension or bookmarklet.
-
Paper Machines Paper Machines is an open-source extension for the Zotero bibliographic management software. Its purpose is to allow individual researchers to generate analyses and visualizations of user-provided corpora, without requiring extensive computational resources or technical knowledge.
-
Recogito Recogito allows users to annotate documents with comments and tags and to create linear, visual relationships. Some distinguishing features include a map view, annotation statistics, and ability to add metadata. Annotations can be exported in various formats including, csv.
-
Voyant Voyant Tools is a web-based reading and analysis environment for digital texts.
-
Blender Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite. It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline—modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing and motion tracking, even video editing and game creation.
-
OpenToonz Software for the production of 2D animation. Based on the software "Toonz," developed by Digital Video S.p.A. in Italy, OpenToonz has been customized by Studio Ghibli, and used for the creation of its works for many years. Dwango has launched the OpenToonz project in cooperation with Digital Video and Studio Ghibli.
-
Sketchfab Sketchfab is a platform to publish, share, and discover 3D content on web, mobile, AR, and VR.
-
SketchUp SketchUp is a 3D modeling computer program for a wide range of drawing applications such as architectural, interior design, landscape architecture, civil and mechanical engineering, film and video game design.
-
Scene VR SceneVR is an engaging way to tell stories from an entirely new perspective. It turns your collection of panoramic and VR-ready photos into a slideshow of navigable scenes, allowing you to create unique 360° narratives.
-
Twine Twine is an open-source tool for telling interactive, non-linear stories. Twine publishes directly to HTML, so you can post your work nearly anywhere.
Tools Tutorials
Example Projects
-
Omeka: Large and CustomizedThis Omeka site presents close to 10k items. This is an example of a large and somewhat customized Omeka site.
-
Omeka Site: Smaller and SimplerThis research project, titled Western Sydney Women's Oral History Project 'From farms to freeways: Women's memories of Western Sydney', sought to analyse the experiences of women who had lived in the Blacktown and Penrith areas since the early 1950s, including their responses to social changes brought about by rapid suburbanisation in the Western Sydney region in the post-war period.
Two-hour taped discussions were held with 34 women, aged sixty and over, who were in their early twenties during the Western Sydney region's population growth. The majority of women interviewed were Australian-born, and of Anglo-Celtic origin. -
Scalar: Digital EditionThis site demonstrates how Scalar might be used to pair text and images and thereby build a digital edition.
-
Scalar: Class ProjectThis site was built by collaboratively by a class of undergraduates in an English research seminar.
-
Wordpress examplesExamples of wordpress sites
-
HistorypinThis collection shows how Historypin displays "pinned" events/locations/images/etc.
-
QGIS Maps ShowcaseThis Flickr collection presents images of maps created using QGIS.
-
Tableau ExampleUrban Audit City factsheets-European Environmental Agency
-
Blender exampleprincess Ira and Amina
-
SketchUp exampleLittle Design Corner
-
Twine exampleThe Usher Foundation V: The Eye