Agriculture Librarian
Randa Lopez Morgan
She/Her
Subjects: Agricultural Economics & Agribusiness, Agricultural Extension, Education, & Evaluation, Agriculture, Animal Sciences, Coast & Environment, Entomology, Nutrition & Food Sciences, Plant Pathology & Crop Physiology, Plant, Environmental, & Soil Sciences, Renewable Natural Resources, Science, Textiles, Apparel Design, & Merchandising
Simmons Insights
- Simmons InsightsIn-depth guide on using Simmons Insights
Research Resources
These databases are reference resources and contain encyclopedias and dictionaries. These databases are here to help you learn more about the topic you are researching. These resources are great at helping you put your topic in context and identifying related concepts and keywords you can use to find more about your topic in the other databases.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowThe Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and much more.
- Women’s Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
**Six-month embargo on new issues.**
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete provides full text from 11,200 sources, including more than 1,100 scholarly business journals. This database offers information in virtually every area of business including accounting & tax, banking, finance & insurance, construction, computer science, economics and many more.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of hundreds of Industry Market Research reports. Industries represented include Agriculture; Mining; Utilities; Construction; Manufacturing; Wholesale Trade; Retail Trade; Transportation; Information; Finance; Real Estate; Technical and Scientific; Waste Management; Education; Healthcare; Recreation; and Food Services.
- WARC This link opens in a new windowWarc.com is an online service offering advertising best practice, evidence and insights from the world's leading brands. Warc helps clients grow their businesses by using proven approaches to maximise advertising effectiveness.
- Vivvix This link opens in a new windowQuickly access spend and media mix trends, and analyze competitor’s brand investment. Custom Reports help Insights and Research teams to run deep-dive multimedia and specific media analysis.
• Understand brands’ investment strategies in detail
• Compare your campaigns with specific competitive sets
• Focus on campaign detail through a wide range of metrics (spend, Share of Voice)
Click here for helpful tips.
Maximum number of simultaneous users is 15. *Please do not change the login details once you've entered the database.*
- Country Commercial GuidesMarket conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at U.S. embassies worldwide.
- Export.govDeveloped by international trade experts and economists, Export.gov provides trusted market intelligence, practical advice and business tools (e.g. export guides) to help U.S. companies expand in global markets.
- Global Brand DatabaseSearch brand information (trademarks, appellations of origin and official emblems) from multiple national and international sources, including marks registered through WIPO’s Madrid System. Access up-to-date details on the status of trademarks registered under the Madrid System (trademarks which are currently in force or have expired within the past six months).
- Google TrendsGoogle Trends is a public web facility of Google Inc., based on Google Search, that shows how often a particular search-term is entered relative to the total search-volume across various regions of the world, and in various languages.
- Journal of Marketing AnalyticsThe Journal of Marketing Analytics brings together applied research and practice papers in this blossoming field. A unique blend of applied academic research, combined with insights from commercial best practices makes the Journal of Marketing Analytics a perfect companion for academics and practitioners alike.
- Catalyst This link opens in a new windowCatalyst is a consumer insights and activation engine that informs marketing strategy and streamlines the use of data to drive business results. Powered by MRI-Simmons’ nationally representative, privacy-compliant consumer data set, Catalyst provides marketers with a series of modules, from consumer profiling through activation, designed to enable a self-service experience with complete transparency. The platform also boasts intuitive navigation, interactive charts and custom formatting that power visual storytelling, and shareable reports and dashboards designed to streamline collaboration.
**This database allows 50 concurrent users. Chrome is the recommended browser.** - SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowSimplyAnalytics is a powerful analytical and data visualization tool to create charts, reports, and maps. Access demographic, business, and marketing data from sources such as Nielsen, Dun & Bradstreet, and SimmonsLOCAL. Demographic variables include housing, employment, transportation, and families.
Create an account using your LSU email address or sign in as a guest.
Note: This database allows 50 simultaneous users.
- Top Markets: A Market Assessment Tool for U.S. Exporters (International Trade Administration)The International Trade Administration's Top Markets Series is meant to help exporters determine their next export market by comparing opportunities across borders. Each report ranks future export opportunities within a particular industry based on a sector-specific methodology. The reports provide a detailed assessment of the competitiveness landscape within a sector, as well as the opportunities and challenges facing U.S. exporters in key markets. Each report is available for download. Interested exporters can also download or view individual case studies within larger reports.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Explore Census DataPopulation, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Obtain data in the form of maps, tables, and reports from a variety of Census Bureau sources.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis - BEAAccess national (e.g. NIPA, gross product by industry), international (e.g. balance of payments, exports and imports), and regional (e.g. state personal and per capita income) data.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsData and analysis on employment, unemployment, spending, time use, productivity, benefits, pay and workplace injuries.
- Commerce Data Hub (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)One-stop shopping to access statistics from U.S. bureaus and agencies
- Data.govEasily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.
- Industry Statistics PortalThe Industry Statistics Portal provides access to the Census Bureau programs that provide economic data for a user-selected industry. Select from a list of industries or search by the 2012 NAICS code or keyword.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista offers over 1.5 million statistics and facts on more than 60,000 topics drawn from over 18,000 different sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. The data is aggregated by a dedicated team of researchers and statisticians who are experts in the 20 market and industry sectors covered. For each data set, extensive source information is provided as well as several download formats for direct integration into various end products.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
- Textile Technology Complete This link opens in a new windowTextile Technology Complete contains indexing and abstracting for more than 490 periodical titles, and for over 882,000 records drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports and trade literature. Coverage spans the domestic and international arenas and includes publications covering the major resources from the scientific community, as well as the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.