MC 7033: Race & Gender in Political Communication: Polling & Public Opinion Data
Polls & Public Opinion
- Roper iPoll This link opens in a new windowRoper iPoll includes polling data from nearly every major organization that has conducted polls in the United States today, including academic, media, foundation, nonprofit and private industry pollsters. The archive also includes data from polling organizations based in over 120 countries. iPoll consists of over 35,000 studies with over 725,000 searchable survey questions, and over 24,000 datasets from public opinion surveys dating back to the 1930s. These studies cover a vast variety of topics including elections and politics, social issues, finances and the economy, education, health, international affairs, social movements and change, and historical events. Also includes downloadable questionnaires, analysis, interviewer instructions, and cross-tab analytic tools.
Online Sources with Public Opinion Surveys & Historical Research Survey Data:
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
- ANES - American National Election StudiesTo serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. ANES data enable researchers to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Central to this mission is the active involvement of the ANES research community in all phases of the project.
- ANES Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral BehaviorThe Guide provides immediate access to tables and graphs that display the ebb and flow of public opinion, electoral behavior, and choice in American politics over time. It serves as a resource for political observers, policy makers, and journalists, teachers, students, and social scientists.
- GSS - The General Social SurveyFor more than four decades, the General Social Survey (GSS) has studied the growing complexity of American society. It is the only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States. The GSS has been a reliable source of data to help researchers, students, and journalists monitor and explain trends in American behaviors, demographics, and opinions. You'll find the complete GSS data set on this site, and can access the GSS Data Explorer to explore, analyze, extract, and share custom sets of GSS data.
- ICPSRAn international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
