It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This project, created by Art & Design Librarian Marty Miller and Humanities & Social Sciences Librarian Brittany O'Neill, uses LibGuides and multiple KnightLab tools to contextualize contemporary accounts of a Civil War battle. This project was created for the Gulf South History & Humanities Conference as a way of showing an alternative format for a history project using primary and secondary sources found on the web, in the Louisiana Digital Library, and through LSU Libraries' subscription databases.
This digital edition provides access to all 52 issues of this antebellum literary magazine, and uses encoding to create and share data about authorship in the journal’s pages. Led by Lauren Coats, Associate Professor of English.
This project is an example that uses StoryMap as a tool outside of using a geographical map. This project uses a Bosch triptych as the "map" in place of Google Maps. Parts of the painting are annotated and zoomed in on to analyze the artwork.
With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: space, time, and narrative.
Drawing upon data derived from extensive written records as well as historical maps, this project investigates spatial patterns of residential segregation in Nineteenth Century American cities, exploring issues of wealth, occupation and race. More basically, every individual citizen, to the furthest extent possible, is mapped at his or her place of residence over the period of study in three major American cities. To accomplish this goal, the project team has developed a credible geospatial network, similar to the contemporary TIGER database, that covers Washington, D.C., Nashville, Tennessee in 1860 as well as Omaha, Nebraska for 1870.
The Viral Texts project seeks to develop models that will help scholars better understand what qualities—both textual and thematic—helped particular news stories, short fiction, and poetry “go viral” in nineteenth-century newspapers and magazines.
A collaborative effort—centered doubly at Northwestern University and Washington University in St. Louis—to transform the early English print record, from 1473 to the early 1700s, into a linguistically annotated and deeply searchable text corpus.
This website provides scholars and teachers with two visual tools for interpreting and teaching Hugo’s Les Misérables: graphs of the novel’s characters and their encounters and maps of sites and itineraries mentioned or described in the novel.
Black Quotidian explores everyday lives of African Americans in the twentieth century. Drawing on an archive of digitized African-American newspapers, Matthew F. Delmont guides readers through a wealth of primary resources that reveal how the Black press popularized African-American history and valued the lives of both famous and ordinary Black people.
HASTAC (Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory) is an interdisciplinary community of humanists, artists, social scientists, scientists, and technologists changing the way we teach and learn. This collection is for fostering innovative and open methods and tools in the classroom and beyond.