Journals
The following are links to journals from the lists surveyed for this project.
This is a project of the Collections Taskforce of LSU Libraries' Diversity Committee to highlight and make suggestions for additions to its collections by and about trans* people. For the purposes of this project, we use trans* and transgender as the umbrella terms for those whose gender identity or expression falls outside the binary/does not match their assigned gender at birth. This project is not intended to be comprehensive of all works by and about trans* folks, but to build upon existing collections and make those materials more discoverable.
You can access these materials below or learn more about the background of the project by visiting the background tab.
Books
The following is a list of the books we identified through this project that the Libraries already owned or was able to purchase. Use the link below to view the list in the catalog.
Films
The following are links to films from the lists surveyed for this project. These links are in LSU's or East Baton Rouge Parish Public Library's instance of Kanopy, a video streaming platform, and LGBT Studies in Video.
Subject Headings/Finding Other Sources
The list above is just a sample of titles by and about trans* people based on the bibliographies used in this project. There is much more to be found in the Libraries' collections. One way is to search Discovery by subject.
- Discovery Discovery is the default search for LSU libraries. It searches about 80% of the journal articles and all of the eBooks and print books owned by the library. This is the best place to start your research.
To search by subject, click on the Select a Field dropdown menu and select SU Subject Terms. Subject terms describe the focus of a particular work.
Here are some Library of Congress subject terms associated with this topic to get you started:
- Gender
- Gender Identity
- Gender Expression
- Gender-nonconforming People
- Gender Nonconformity
- Gender Minorities
- GLBT People*
- GLBTQ People
- LGBT People
- LGBTQ People
- Gender Reassignment Surgery
- Gender Transition
- Intersex People
- Intersexuality
- Legal Assistance to Transgender People
- Social Work with Transgender People
- Transgender (add a category of persons; e.g., athletes, prisoners, parents, etc.)
- Transgender Day of Remembrance
- Transgender Men
- Transgender People
- Transgender People’s Writings (add a nationality; e.g., American, Canadian, etc.)
- Transgender Women
- Transsexuals
Note that some of the language used in these subject headings is potentially outdated or offensive. These subject headings are created by the Library of Congress and often take a long time to change. You can learn more about this issue in this article: Ros, A. (2019, March 20). The bias hiding in your library. The Conversation.
Below are databases that are useful for transgender studies.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history. The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program consists of four archives: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
- LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs/books.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. The collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.