Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

For patrons with disabilities in need of assistance, please visit https://lib.lsu.edu/services/patrons.

COVID-19

Some publishers are opening their content to help universities move their courses online.  Here is a link to an evolving list of resources. 

https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/COVID-19

TERMS OF USE

LSU Libraries provides access to these  e-resources for current LSU students, faculty, and staff; however, it is subject to the licenses and terms of its contracts.  Among other prohibitions, systematic/excessive downloading is prohibited. Violations can result in suspension of access for the entire campus. Full terms of use can be viewed here: https://www.lib.lsu.edu/services/copyright/terms 

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Rich collections of periodicals detail American history and culture from the
late-17th century through the late-19th century meeting the research
needs of scholars and faculty in specific academic departments. See the More Info section below for a complete list of collections offered in this database. Collections can be searched individually or all at one time. The URL linking out from this database record searches all collections.
New
The award-winning Arcadian Library Online enables easy exploration of the rich holdings of the Arcadian Library, revealing the shared cultural heritage of Europe and the Middle East across the course of a millennium. Images are displayed in high resolution, full colour and include bindings, clasps and page edges. Choose between an English or Arabic interface and search in either language.
New
Practice makes perfect with Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts – the ultimate guide to a visual arts education. This comprehensive resource offers instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.
New
Bloomsbury Architecture Library is a leading digital resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design. The platform offers access to a carefully curated collection of fully-searchable text and image content, incorporating the new edition of Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture, exclusive to the platform and produced in partnership with the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the University of London. The all new Banister Fletcher is global in focus and sits alongside peer-reviewed cutting-edge academic research and a wealth of images.
New
Bloomsbury Cultural History is an extraordinary, fully cross-searchable digital resource that engages with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity. Thanks to its interdisciplinary nature and ever-expanding collections, this unique digital reference tool promises to be an essential resource on many courses from cultural studies and sociology to history and anthropology.
New
Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation.
New
Bloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Content is peer reviewed by industry and academic experts and includes interconnected major reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, bibliographic guides, textbooks, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images from museums around the world to create a rich educational resource.
New
Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 spectacular fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979 to 2003. Each video features extensive indexing and captioning to enable search, browse, and enhanced discoverability.
New
Bloomsbury Food Library is a growing and vibrant digital resource. Home to the widest-ranging existing collection of food studies content it reflects the interdisciplinary nature of this growing subject, making it an essential resource for students, researchers, and scholars studying food, on courses as wide-ranging as history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
New
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies offers a global perspective on this rich field of study, bringing together high quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and object images in a one-stop digital resource that will open up the medieval world.
New
Unlimited access to Chronicle.com, including all of The Chronicle’s daily news and data, premium content, special reports, and The Chronicle Review.

Off-campus login instructions:
1. Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Log In” link at top, right-hand side of the web page.
2. Choose the “Create an account now” option.
3. Enter and confirm your campus e-mail address, then follow the steps on the account setup pages.

Mobile view instructions:
1. Go to Chronicle.com on your device’s Web.
2. Click on the “Log In” link at the top, righthand side of the web page.
3. Enter and confirm your campus e-mail address, then follow the steps on the account setup pages.
New
The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history. It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past.
New
A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.
Trial
This collection of digitised primary sources looks at two centuries of everyday, political, religious, working, trading and administrative life in England during this pivotal epoch. Documents cover an array of topics relating to England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, with a significant focus on the lives of ‘everyday’ people. Volumes of correspondence from more prominent families look at governance, politics, monarchy, relations between landowners and tenants, war, and relations with England’s neighbours. Please note that PDF download options are not available during this trial.
Trial
The North China Herald is the prime printed source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to 1940s. No other newspaper existed over such an extended period, and covers it in such incredible depth and variety. The fully text-searchable North China Herald Online will be one of the primary resources on a period which continues to shape much of China’s world and worldview.
New
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives and personal pages maintained by academics. PhilPapers also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy. Note: Requires off-campus users to create a profile and list LSU as their affiliation.
Trial
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography of writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from the early 19th century to the present on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of more than 200 periodicals.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement