Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

For patrons with disabilities in need of assistance, please visit https://lib.lsu.edu/services/patrons.

COVID-19

Some publishers are opening their content to help universities move their courses online.  Here is a link to an evolving list of resources. 

https://guides.lib.lsu.edu/COVID-19

TERMS OF USE

LSU Libraries provides access to these  e-resources for current LSU students, faculty, and staff; however, it is subject to the licenses and terms of its contracts.  Among other prohibitions, systematic/excessive downloading is prohibited. Violations can result in suspension of access for the entire campus. Full terms of use can be viewed here: https://www.lib.lsu.edu/services/copyright/terms 

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Rich collections of periodicals detail American history and culture from the
late-17th century through the late-19th century meeting the research
needs of scholars and faculty in specific academic departments. See the More Info section below for a complete list of collections offered in this database. Collections can be searched individually or all at one time. The URL linking out from this database record searches all collections.
New
Unlimited access to Chronicle.com, including all of The Chronicle’s daily news and data, premium content, special reports, and The Chronicle Review.

Off-campus login instructions:
1. Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Log In” link at top, right-hand side of the web page.
2. Choose the “Create an account now” option.
3. Enter and confirm your campus e-mail address, then follow the steps on the account setup pages.

Mobile view instructions:
1. Go to Chronicle.com on your device’s Web.
2. Click on the “Log In” link at the top, righthand side of the web page.
3. Enter and confirm your campus e-mail address, then follow the steps on the account setup pages.
New
A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.
Trial
This collection of digitised primary sources looks at two centuries of everyday, political, religious, working, trading and administrative life in England during this pivotal epoch. Documents cover an array of topics relating to England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, with a significant focus on the lives of ‘everyday’ people. Volumes of correspondence from more prominent families look at governance, politics, monarchy, relations between landowners and tenants, war, and relations with England’s neighbours. Please note that PDF download options are not available during this trial.
Trial
The Financial Times began as a City of London news sheet and grew to become one of the best-known and most-respected newspapers in the world. Along the way, the Financial Times—printed on its distinctive salmon-colored paper—has chronicled the critical financial and economic events that shaped the world, from the late nineteenth and entire twentieth centuries to today. This historical archive is a comprehensive, accurate, and unbiased research tool for those studying economic and business history and current affairs of the last 120 years.
Trial
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Coverage: 1877 - 2003
Trial
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
New
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives and personal pages maintained by academics. PhilPapers also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy. Note: Requires off-campus users to create a profile and list LSU as their affiliation.
Trial
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Provide Website Feedback
Accessibility Statement