Skip to main content

LSU Libraries Tutorials

This guide is designed to provide a library use reference for researchers, from faculty wishing to incorporate library research instruction into their courses to student researchers at all levels.

LSU Libraries Tutorials

Welcome to the LSU Libraries Tutorials guide. This guide is designed to provide a library use reference for researchers, from faculty wishing to incorporate library research instruction into their courses to student researchers at all levels. 

Tiger TAIL

Tiger TAIL is a comprehensive set of tutorials designed to introduce students to the four major concepts related to research in the library literature:

  • Developing a research topic
  • Identifying and locating appropriate information sources
  • Examining authority and evaluating information sources
  • Using information sources ethically. 

Students can complete parts of the tutorial and submit their PDF record of responses to their instructors.

Using Citation Management Software

This page introduces users to three citation management software packages: EndNote, Mendeley, and Zotero. Links to software downloads and vendor guidance videos are included.

Using the LSU Libraries Catalog

Use this page to learn how to search the LSU Libraries catalog for books, eBooks, music scores, government documents, etc.

Using the LSU Libraries Databases

Use this page to learn how to use a number of frequently used databases, including the libraries' Discovery search tool, which searches across databases and the catalog. Databases covered by this tutorial are: 

  • Literati by Credo - a database of reference materials. This is a good place to start if to learn the basics about a topic.
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive - another reference database that focuses on current events and controversies. This is another good place to start to gain an overview about a topic, and is a good information source for issue analysis or persuasive essay/speech projects.
  • Academic Search Complete - a comprehensive database of scholarly journal articles covering a wide field of academic disciplines.
  • LexisNexis Academic - a news database that also includes business and legal information.
  • Web of Science - a database that largely covers the top ranked journals in scientific fields, with limited coverage of humanities and social sciences. 

Understanding Call Numbers

LSU Libraries organizes its print materials using 3 different organization schemes:

  • Library of Congress Classification
  • Dewey Decimal Classification
  • SuDocs Classification

Use this page to decipher the call number schemes and find the information you need on the shelf.