Skip to main content

IE 7722

Finding Articles

  • Use quotes to limit results to an exact phrase
    • "six sigma"
  • Truncation symbol
    • Varies by database – find under Help menu
    • Nananotech* finds nanotech, nanotechnology, and nanotechnologies
  • Boolean AND and OR
    • "health care" OR healthcare
    • ("health care" OR healthcare) AND "six sigma"
  • Thesaurus search: Find subject terms in controlled vocabulary; combined terms for precision

Both Discovery and Google Scholar are good starting points because they are vast and multidisciplinary. 

Keyword searching is the most effective technique for both.

Google Scholar: 

  • Settings > Library links > Louisiana State University - E-resources @ LSU 

Discovery: 

  • If you find an article online that is not available in full-text, search the title here

Compendex is LSU's most comprehensive database for engineering literature. 

  • Break down your topic into separate components
  • Search each component in the Thesaurus Search
    • Controlled vocabulary helps to find more relevant articles and describe the number of irrelevant results
    • Combine with AND or OR
    • Edit if results are not on target 

Science Direct's coverage includes physics sciences, engineering, and life and health sciences. Includes journals related to healthcare, biotech, medical devices, and pharmaceuticals. 

Web of Science is a citation index

  • Use the example to structure your search
  • No controlled vocabulary, so search, evaluate, revise
  • Times cited: look at who is citing relevant research to expand your search

Business Source Complete

Full-text journals, including Healthcare Design, Healthcare Executive, Modern Healthcare

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Includes Medical Expenditure Panel Survey data, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project data, State Snapshots data.

Fast Facts on US Hospitals

From the American Hospital Association's annual surveys

Census Bureau: Health Insurance

Reports on insurance coverage and state and national levels

Best's Insurance Reports

Profiles of health insurance companies. 

Request items we don't have through Interlibrary Loan

Loading