The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
SimplyAnalytics is a powerful analytical and data visualization tool to create charts, reports, and maps. Access demographic, business, and marketing data from sources such as Nielsen, Dun & Bradstreet, and SimmonsLOCAL. Demographic variables include housing, employment, transportation, and families.
Create an account using your LSU email address or sign in as a guest.
Note: This database only allows 4 concurrent users.
With over 1500 entries, this popular dictionary provides concise and up to date explanations of the theories, approaches and terminology that define front-line social work and social care. These entries explain, in jargon-free language, how key concepts can be used to improve practice. Clear explanations outline significant developments such as Every Child Matters and the personalization of adult services. Entries are helpfully cross referenced and are evidence based. They reflect professional values and are written by specialists in the field, with a specific focus on the most recent legislation and policy guidance from government. This book is a key reference for students in further and higher education who are preparing for careers in social work, community care, residential care, child care, the probation service, counselling, and psychiatric nursing.
The 400 articles this 4-volume set cover all aspects of social work from practice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history. This new edition of the Encylcopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. For even further ease of use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and includes a complete Index. This convenient and authoritative core reference work is an essential tool for fact-finding, studying for licensing exams, supplementing course work, initiating literature searches, and supporting practice decisions. The Encyclopedia presents an in-depth look at the ever-changing field of social work. The foundation of any social work collection, the Encyclopedia will be a treasured addition to the library of practitioner, scholar, and student alike.
The International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Like its predecessors, the set meets the needs of high school and college students, researchers inside and outside academia, and lay readers in public libraries. The new set highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features nearly 3,000 entirely new articles and important biographies contributed by thousands of scholars (including several Nobel prize winners) from around the world on a wide array of global topics, including: achievement testing, censorship, personality measurement, aging, income distribution, foreign aid (political and economic aspects), food (world problems, consumption patterns), cultural adaptation, comparative health-care systems, terrorism, political correctness, agricultural innovation, legislation of morality, sexual violence and exploitation, white collar crime. The new 2nd edition also features biographical profiles of the major contributors to the study of the social sciences, past and present.
Resilience is a topic that is currently receiving increased attention. In general, resilience refers to the capacity of those who, even under the most stressful circumstances, are able to cope, to rebound, and to go on and thrive. Resilient families are able to regain their balance following crises that arise as a function of either nature or nurture, and to continue to encourage and support their members as they deal with the necessary requirements for accommodation, adaptation and, ultimately, healthy survival. Handbook of Family Resilience provides a broad body of knowledge regarding the traits and patterns found to characterize resilient individuals and well-functioning families, including those with diverse structures, various ethnic backgrounds and a variety of non-traditional forms. This Handbook brings together a variety of perspectives aimed at understanding and helping to facilitate resilience in families relative to a full range of challenges.
The fields of health care, aging, and social work are often treated as discrete entities, while all social workers deal with issues of health and aging on a daily basis, regardless of practice specialization. The Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging is the first reference to address this reality by compiling the most current thinking on these subjects in a single volume. With the population of older adults increasing as rapidly as new possibilities for their care, professionals need an accessible source of specialized information about how best to serve the elderly and their families, and they will find this authoritative handbook indispensable. In 100 original chapters, the most experienced and prominent gerontological health care scholars in the United States and across the world provide social workers with up-to-date knowledge of evidence-based practice guidelines for effectively assessing and treating older adults and supporting their families. The contributing authors paint rich portraits of a variety of populations that social workers serve and arenas in which they practice, followed by detailed recommendations of best practices for an array of physical and mental health conditions. Its unprecedented attention to diversity, global trends, and implications for research, government policy, and education make the publication of such a compendium a major event in the field of gerontological social work. Ambitious and multi-dimensional, this handbook represents the best research on health and aging available to social workers today.
Why do some people collapse under certain life conditions, while others remain relatively unscathed? What accounts for the marked variations in people's responses to stress and adversity? The second edition of this groundbreaking how-to guide has been extensively updated to reflect the field's growing understanding of the importance of resiliency and protective factors--the positive poles of the human experience--and the importance of their role in forming balanced assessments and responsive interventions. Individual chapters explore such problems as AIDS, chronic physical illness, depression, addiction, homelessness, divorce, and abuse. This new edition goes beyond the pathology explanatory model to stress such factors as courage, coping, and resourcefulness, and includes new chapters on such topics as crime victims and victim services, the death of a parent, gay and lesbian persons, single parenthood, and women of color.