- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 hundred highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers; Credo General Reference covers every major subject. Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
Specialized encyclopedias provide a wealth of information, such as basic, background information on a topic, bibliographies of articles, books, and other materials on a topic, and images, sounds, and graphics to add interest to your presentations and posters. To find more specialized encyclopedias, you can perform a keyword search in the LSU Library Catalog for "encyclopedia" and "your topic" (for example, type in "encyclopedia ocean" or "encyclopedia plant").
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics; Third Edition byCall Number: QH332 .E52 2004 V.1-5Publication Date: 2004(Physical Books) Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of SciencePublication Date: 2014Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.
- Encyclopedia of Adaptations in the Natural World byPublication Date: 2009Welcome to the amazing world of adaptations, where species - including humans - develop fascinating new capabilities to ensure a competitive edge in their environment, or in some cases, survival itself. Encyclopedia of Adaptations in the Natural World is a wide-ranging catalog of the most important of those adaptations - from photosynthesis to the the peculiar 'vampire'-like behavior of the tiny life form called the prion.
- Encyclopedia of Systems Biology byPublication Date: 2013Systems biology refers to the quantitative analysis of the dynamic interactions among several components of a biological system and aims to understand the behavior of the system as a whole.
- Encylopaedia of Molecular Biology byPublication Date: 1994The Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology is a truly unique work of reference. 6000 definitions cover the entire spectrum of molecular life.science. The complete one-volume guide to understanding the way molecular biology is transforming medicine and agriculture. Long and short entries written by over 300 of the world's.finest researchers.
- Encyclopedia of Insects byPublication Date: 2009Covering all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management, this book sets the standard in entomology.
- Chemical Biology byPublication Date: 2012An authoritative look at the application of chemical biology in drug discovery and development. Based on the award winning Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology published in 2008, this book explores the role of chemical biology in drug discovery and development.
- Encyclopedia of Geobiology byPublication Date: 2011The interplay between Geology and Biology has shaped the Earth from the early Precambrian, 3.8 billion years ago. The complex interdependence of life and non-living matter induces alterations of the chemical environment, precipitation or destruction of minerals and rocks, the accumulation or leaching of ores, as well as the formation and degradation of hydrocarbon resources. Moving beyond the borders of the classical core disciplines, Geobiology strives to identify cause-and-effect chains and synergisms between the geo- and the biospheres that have been driving evolution of life in modern and ancient environments. Combining modern methods, geobiological information can be extracted not only from visible remains of organisms, but also from organic molecules, rock fabrics, minerals, isotopes and other tracers. Exploring these processes and their signatures also creates enormous applied potentials with respect to issues of environment protection, public health, energy and resource management. The Encyclopedia of Geobiology is designed as a key reference for students, researchers, teachers, and the informed public to provide basic, but comprehensible knowledge on this rapidly expanding dicipline at the interface between modern geo- and biosciences.
- Peptides from A to Z byPublication Date: 2008This mini-encyclopedia contains more than 1,500 alphabetical entries from the entire field of peptide science in one handy volume, as well as the technical terms, acronyms and concepts used in peptide chemistry. It also features the complete sequence of more than 800 peptides, numerous illustrations and numerous cross-references.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Bioresource Technology byPublication Date: 2004An easy-to-use reference source on the applications and management of biotechnology! The Concise Encyclopedia of Bioresource Technology is a unique resource for state-of-the-art research findings on biotechnological innovations and their potential for commercial exploitation.
- Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology byPublication Date: 2004An easy-to-use single reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology! This comprehensive volume covers the entire field of plant pathology.
- Easy Way Series: E-Z MicrobiologyPublication Date: 2011E-Z Microbiology transforms a difficult subject into ideas that every attentive student can understand. Important topics covered include: the microbial world, cellular chemistry, observing microbes through a microscope, microbial growth and reproduction, microbial genetics, bacteria, fungi and protozoa, viruses, the disease process, epidemiology, antimicrobial drugs, practical applications of immunology, infectious diseases, and many others.
- Human Evolution: A Guide to the Debates byCall Number: GN281 .R412313 2004Publication Date: 2004(Physical Books) A fascinating and wide-ranging look at the controversies surrounding the search for the origins of the human species.
- BLASTBasic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
- ExPASy Bioinformatics Resources PortalExPASy is the SIB Bioinformatics Resource Portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools (i.e., resources) in different areas of life sciences including proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, transcriptomics etc. On this portal you find resources from many different SIB groups as well as external institutions.
- OMIMOMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes that is freely available and updated daily. OMIM is authored and edited at the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Ada Hamosh. Its official home is omim.org.
Subject-specific dictionaries are useful for those working on cross-displinary projects and students new to a discipline.
- The Penguin Dictionary of Biology byPublication Date: 2004Worried about your maternal effect or biological clock? Need to know a rhizoid from a rhizome? Think you're going to fail your zoology or botany exam? The Penguin Dictionary of Biology is your savior, defining some 6000 terms relating to this rich, complex and constantly expanding subjects; from amino acids, bacteria and the cell cycle to X-ray diffraction, Y chromosome and zygotes.
- The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution byPublication Date: 2005Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, this invaluable research and study tool covers a broad range of subjects including human biology, physical anthropology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. The volume also includes over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, and illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles.
- Ane's Encyclopedic Dictionary of General and Applied Entomology byPublication Date: 2008Keeping the requirements of teachers and researchers in mind, this encyclopedic dictionary presents the terminology in entomology and pest management in the most authentic and comprehensive way. It also includes terms related to the close relatives of insects, such as mites and ticks and some other organisms which are pests of crops.
- Dictionary of Zoo Biology and Animal Management byPublication Date: 2013This dictionary is intended as a guide to the terminology used in a wide range of animal-related programmes of study including agriculture, animal care, animal management, animal production, animal welfare, veterinary nursing, wildlife conservation and zoo biology.
- Medical Terminology Demystified byPublication Date: 2006There's no easier, faster, or more practical way to learn the really tough subjects. Medical Terminology Demystified covers all the basic terms of disease and injury, abnormal anatomy and physiology, surgical techniques, drugs, and other therapies--in the context of real, practical health issues.
- A Dictionary of Genetics byPublication Date: 2006A Dictionary of Genetics is unique in that it includes terms from a wide range of disciplines which now intertwine with genetics, including molecular biology, cell biology, medicine, botany, and evolutionary studies. Its 7,000 cross-referenced definitions are supported by an excellent collection of line drawings, tables, and chemical formulas.
- Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology byPublication Date: 2006This third, revised edition covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. Includes: the latest developments in the field; over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles; extensive cross-referencing between topics; and, numerous references from scientific journals and other relevant sources.
- Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology byPublication Date: 2012A newly revised edition of the standard reference for the field today-updated with new terms, major discoveries, significant scientists, and illustrations.
Handbooks provide standard information, including tables of data, citations to literature, and brief synopses of topics.
- Strasburger's Plant Sciences byPublication Date: 2013This famous book on botany was published for the first time in 1894 by Eduard Strasburger and his co-workers. The present edition is based on a translation of the 36th edition of the German "Strasburger" and contains additional contributions by renowned experts in the field.The "Strasburger" comprises a highly appealing and holistic approach to the structure, the systematics and evolution, the functioning, and ecology of plants.
- Handbook of Microalgal Culture byPublication Date: 2013This excellent new edition also contains details of the biology and large-scale culture of several economically important and newly-exploited microalgae, including Botryococcus, Chlamydomonas, Nannochloropsis, Nostoc, Chlorella, Spirulina, Haematococcus, and Dunaniella species/strains.
- Handbook of Stem Cells byPublication Date: 2013New discoveries in the field of stem cells increasingly dominate the news and scientific literature revealing an avalanche of new knowledge and research tools that are producing therapies for cancer, heart disease, diabetes, and a wide variety of other diseases that afflict humanity. The Handbook of Stem Cells integrates this exciting area of life science, combining in two volumes the requisites for a general understanding of adult and embryonic stem cells.
- Stem Cells Handbook byPublication Date: 2013Stem Cells Handbook, Second Edition discusses the critical areas of progress in stem cells, including the most recent research and applications of pluripotent embryonic cells, induced pluripotent cells, oligopotent tissue stem cells and cancer stem cells.
- The Handbook of Plant Metabolomics byPublication Date: 2013This is the newest title in the successful 'Molecular Plant Biology Handbook Series'. Just like the other titles in the series this new title gives an excellent overview of different approaches and techniques in the field.
- Handbook of Systems Biology byPublication Date: 2013This book provides an entry point into Systems Biology for researchers in genetics, molecular biology, cell biology, microbiology and biomedical science to understand the key concepts to expanding their work.
- Handbook of Molecular Microbial Ecology I byPublication Date: 2011The premiere two-volume reference on revelations from studying complex microbial communities in many distinct habitats. Metagenomics is an emerging field that has changed the way microbiologists study microorganisms. It involves the genomic analysis of microorganisms by extraction and cloning of DNA from a group of microorganisms, or the direct use of the purified DNA or RNA for sequencing, which allows scientists to bypass the usual protocol of isolating and culturing individual microbial species.
- Handbook of the Biology of Aging byPublication Date: 2011Handbook of the Biology of Aging, Seventh Edition, reviews and synthesizes recent findings and discoveries in the field. This volume is part of The Handbooks of Aging series, which also includes The Handbook of the Psychology of Aging and The Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences.
- Handbook of Cell Signaling byPublication Date: 2009KEY FEATURES: * Contains over 350 chapters of comprehensive coverage on cell signaling * Includes discussion on topics from ligand/receptor interactions to organ/organism responses * Provides user-friendly, well-illustrated, reputable content by experts in the field
- The Handbook of Plant Mutation Screening byPublication Date: 2010Induced mutagenesis is a common and promising method for screening for new crops with improved properties. This title introduces the different methods and then focuses on the screening, detection and analysis of the novel mutations. Written by a global team of authors the book is an indispensable tool for all scientists working on crop breeding in industry and academia.
- Molecular Biomethods Handbook byPublication Date: 2008Molecular Biomethods Handbook, 2nd Edition expands upon the techniques included in the first edition, providing theory, outlines of practical procedures, and applications for a range of techniques.
- Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology byPublication Date: 2010Offering a molecular perspective not available 20 years ago, it provides physical and chemical data on proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, and carbohydrates. Presented in an organized, concise, and simple-to-use format, this popular reference allows quick access to the most frequently used data.
Taxonomy is the describing, identifying, classifying, and naming of organisms. Knowing the taxonomic name for an organism you are interested in will aid you in searching databases for articles. Use the sources below to locate taxonomic names as well as citations to publications which describe, identify, classify, or name an organism. Many encyclopedias also include taxonomic names in entries about specific organisms.
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- Bioinformatics servicesWe maintain the world’s most comprehensive range of freely available and up-to-date molecular databases. Developed in collaboration with our colleagues worldwide, our services let you share data, perform complex queries and analyse the results in different ways.
- Catalogue of Life 2009 Annual ChecklistThe Species 2000 & ITIS Catalogue of Life is planned to become a comprehensive catalogue of all known species of organisms on Earth. Rapid progress has been made recently and this, the ninth edition of the Annual Checklist, contains 1,160,711species. Please note that this is probably just more than half of the world’s known species. This means that for many groups it continues to be deficient, and users will notice that many species are still missing from the Catalogue.
- The Cornell Lab of OrnithologyThe Macaulay Library is the world’s premier scientific archive of natural history audio, video, and photographs. Although the Macaulay Library’s history is rooted in birds, the collection includes amphibians, fishes, and mammals, and the collection preserves recordings of each species’ behavior and natural history. Our mission is to facilitate the ability of others to collect and preserve such recordings, and to actively promote the use of these recordings for diverse purposes spanning scientific research, education, conservation, and the arts.
- Ecological ClassificationsNatureServe Explorer reports information on ecological communities and systems as defined for terrestrial, marine and (in the future) freshwater ecosystems. Developed by NatureServe and its natural heritage member programs in collaboration with federal, international, academic and state partners, these classifications provide a systematic way of describing and assessing ecological diversity.
- Encyclopedia of LifeOur knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice.
- Gene Ontology ConsortiumThe Gene Ontology (GO) project is a collaborative effort to address the need for consistent descriptions of gene products across databases.
- ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemHere you will find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. We are a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies (ITIS-North America); other organizations; and taxonomic specialists. ITIS is also a partner of Species 2000 and the Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF). The ITIS and Species 2000 Catalogue of Life (CoL) partnership is proud to provide the taxonomic backbone to the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
- National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Taxonomy BrowserThe Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
Use laboratory protocols and methods to locate step-by-step instructions on laboratory and research methods.
- Developmental Biology Protocols byPublication Date: 2000The molecular biology revolution has transformed developmental biology into one of the most exciting and fruitful fields in experimental biomedical research today. In Developmental Biology Protocols, established leaders in this field demonstrate this achievement with a comprehensive collection of cutting-edge protocols for studying and analyzing the events of embryonic development.
- Laboratory Protocols in Fungal Biology: Current Methods in Fungal Biology byPublication Date: 2013Laboratory Protocols in Fungal Biology presents the latest techniques in fungal biology. This book analyzes information derived through real experiments, and focuses on cutting edge techniques in the field.
- Extracellular Matrix Protocols byPublication Date: 2000This volume collects the most important protocols utilized for the study of the extracellular matrix.-- Indispensable protocols for all those working in the ECM/connective tissue area-- Novel approaches from the most prominent groups in the world-- Tried and tested methods with notes about pitfalls, etc.
- Gene Targeting Protocols byPublication Date: 2000The potential now exists in many experimental systems to transfer a cloned, modified gene back into the genome of the host organism. In the ideal situation, the cloned gene is returned to its homologous location in the genome and becomes inserted at the target locus. This process is a controlled means for the repair of DNA damage and ensures accurate chromosome disjunction during meiosis.
- Laboratory Methods in Cell Biology: Imaging byPublication Date: 2013This new volume of Methods in Cell Biology covers laboratory methods in cell biology, and includes methods that are among the most important and elucidating in the discipline, such as bioluminescent imaging of gene expressions, confocal imaging, and electron microscopy of bone.
- Stress Response byPublication Date: 2000Mammalian cells have evolved a complex multicomponent machinery that enables them to sense and respond to a wide variety of potentially toxic agents present in their environment. These stress responses are often associated with an increased cellular capacity to tolerate normally lethal levels of an insult. The realization that the mammalian stress response may be intimately linked with many human diseases, including rheumatoid arthritis, ischemia, fever, infection, and cancer, has led to an explosion of interest in this research area. Stress Response: Methods and Protocols brings together a diverse array of practical methodologies that may be employed to address various aspects of the response of mammalian cells to environmental stress.
- Enzyme Engineering byPublication Date: 2013Enzyme Engineering: Methods and Protocols provides guidance to investigators wishing to create enzyme variants with desired properties. This detailed volume covers such topics as a simple method for generating site-specific mutations within bacterial chromosomes.
- Human Stem Cell Technology and Biology byPublication Date: 2010Human Stem Cell Technology & Biology: A Research Guide and Laboratory Manual integrates readily accessible text, electronic and video components with the aim of effectively communicating the critical information needed to understand and culture human embryonic stem cells.
- DNA Repair Protocols byPublication Date: 2000When setting out to decide on the content of DNA Repair Protocols: Prokaryotic Systems, I was conscious of the need to portray the vast array of pathways and enzymatic activities that are part of the discipline of DNA repair. In addition to the classical DNA repair activities, I wanted to convey the significant interest that has been generated in recent years in the use of the proteins and repair systems as research tools, much like the use of restriction enzymes over the last few decades.
- E. Coli Gene Expression Protocols byPublication Date: 2003Peter E. Vaillancourt presents a collection of popular and emerging methodologies that take advantage of E. coli's ability to quickly and inexpensively express recombinant proteins. The authors focus on two areas of interest: the use of E. coli vectors and strains for production of pure, functional protein, and the use of E. coli as host for the functional screening of large collections of proteins and peptides.
- MHC Protocols byPublication Date: 2003The aim of MHC Protocols is to document protocols that can be used for the analysis of genetic variation within the human major histocompatibility complex (MHC; HLA region). The human MHC encompasses approximately 4 million base pairs on the short arm of chromosome 6 at cytogenetic location 6p21. 3. The region is divided into three subregions. The telomeric class I region contains the genes that encode the HLA class I molecules HLA-A, -B, and -C. The centromeric class II region contains the genes encoding the HLA class II molecules HLA-DR, -DQ, and -DP. In between is the class III region, originally identified because it contains genes encoding components of the complement pathway. The entire human MHC has recently been sequenced (1) and each subregion is now known to contain many other genes, a number of which have immunological functions.
- In Vitro Mutagenesis Protocols byPublication Date: 2002Hands-on researchers with proven track records share their advanced mutagenesis techniques. The contributors focus on improvements to conventional site-directed mutagenesis, including a chapter on chemical site-directed mutagenesis, PCR-based mutagenesis and the modifications that allow high throughput mutagenesis experiments, and mutagenesis based on gene disruption (both in vitro- and in situ-based).
- Probes and Tags to Study Biomolecular Function byPublication Date: 2008The only resource to systematically review current experimental methods, this handy reference enables researchers to select the best solution for their experimental problems. For each method covered, the book provides step-by-step protocols, illustrated by typical research applications. After an initial section on probing the lipid bilayer, the text moves on to discuss probing proteins -- including membrane proteins -- and nucleic acids. The first single publication to incorporate chemical markers, fluorescent probes and genetic tags allows a well-informed comparison of different solutions for the same problem in molecular analytics.
- Proteoglycan Protocols byPublication Date: 2001Proteoglycans are some of the most elaborate macromolecules of mammalian and lower organisms. The covalent attachment of at least five types of glycosami- glycan side chains to more than forty individual protein cores makes these molecules quite complex and endows them with a multitude of biological functions.
Cambria Huff
She/her
Contact:
Office: 225-578-6380
Subjects: Biological & Agricultural Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Computer Science, Construction Management, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering, Engineering Standards, Geology & Geophysics, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering